book cover of The Violin Maker\'s Daughter
Added by 5 of our members

The Violin Maker's Daughter

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
'If only I could give this book 100 stars rather than 5!... This book is epic, a mesmerizing book of strength through unimaginable losses... Heartbreaking and beautifully written this is a gripping tale of bravery... One of the best and most memorable historical books I've ever read!' Deanne's Book Thoughts,

When the Nazis march onto the cobbled streets of Colmar on November 1st 1940, Josef, a Jewish violin maker, gathers his wife and daughters closely to him and tells them everything will be alright.

But one year later, three sharp knocks on the door at midnight turn his seventeen year old daughter Sarah's world upside down. As the oldest child, Sarah must be the first to leave her family, to make her escape in a perilous journey across France via Paris to Poitiers. And she must hide who she is and take a new name for her own safety. For now, bilingual Sarah is no longer a French Jew but a German girl.

As she bids farewell to her beloved father and family, Sarah has hope, against all odds, that she will see them again when the war is over. But, travelling through the mountains she finds herself in terrible danger and meets Ralf, a German deserter, who risks his own life to save her.

Ralf and Sarah continue their journey together, keeping their identities secret at all cost. But when Ralf is captured, will Sarah pay the ultimate price for sharing who she really is?

A gripping and heart-breaking account of love, bravery and sacrifice during the terror of war. A story of standing up for what you believe in; even if it's going to break your heart. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Ragged Edge of Night.

Readers have fallen in love with The Violin Maker's Daughter :

'From the minute I opened this book I was completely enthralled. I couldn't put it down. It was well thought out and expertly written... Really a great read and I can't wait to look into other books by this author!' Being Perry, 5 stars

'This is the first book I have read by Sharon Maas and from the moment I started reading it I just could not wait to continue reading it. It's sad, its poignant, its uplifting and it tells the wonderful story of Sarah, the violin makers daughter and her journey as she flees her home country, to escape Nazi's ... Beautifully written and a memorable read.' Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars

'Sharon Maas never disappoints! She is one of my favourite authors and with this wonderful, harrowing, heart breaking tale of courage and love in the face of unimaginable danger, she has cemented her place as one of the best historical fiction writes of today, right up there with Antony Doerr and Kristin Hannah. I SO loved this beautiful story... so stunningly realised. ... I would very highly recommend this book and give it ten stars if I could. If you're going to read one war book this year which marks the 75th anniversary of D-day, make it this one!' Renita D'Silva, 5 stars

'A gripping, heartbreaking, but yet heartwarming historical fiction (that is based on real facts concerning Colmar, Alsace and Lorraine as well as French and German Resistance)... It is raw and emotional, yet a necessary story to tell ... A great read. 5/5 stars' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'I loved it! Once I started reading, I could not stop... I was on the edge of my seat... This is the first book I have read by this writer, I am eager for more!' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'A heart wrenching story of bravery, love and sacrifice.' For the Love of Books

'I'm a huge fan of historical fiction and this one didn't disappoint. I felt it was a good book about the horrors of wartime France.'Goodreads Reviewer

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Sharon Maas's The Violin Maker's Daughter

Paperback Editions

January 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Violin Maker's Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Author(s): Sharon Maas
ISBN: 1-78681-979-1 / 978-1-78681-979-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Violin Maker's Daughter
Author(s): Sharon Maas
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


July 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Violin Maker's Daughter
Author(s): Sharon Maas
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Violin Maker's Daughter
Author(s): Sharon Maas
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Violin Maker's Daughter
Author(s): Sharon Maas
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Violin Maker's Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Author(s): Sharon Maas
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU