book cover of Land of the Blind

Land of the Blind

(2015)
(Book 17 in the Cetin Ikmen series)
A novel by

 
 
Ancient feuds and new dangers bring death to the streets of Istanbul...

Set against the Gezi Park uprising of 2013, Land of the Blind is the seventeenth crime thriller featuring Inspectors Cetin Ikmen and Mehut Suleyman in Istanbul. A perfect read for fans of Jason Goodwin and Martin Walker.

'There's no one quite like Nadel... Seamlessly weaving together so many diverse threads is the work of a master with her finger firmly on the city's pulse... Gripping' - Big Issue Istanbul

In the ruins of the Constantinople hippodrome lies a body: a woman, clutching a piece of red stone. She's recently given birth, but there's no sign of the baby. Inspector Cetin Ikmen discovers she was Ariadne Savva, a Byzantine specialist on a crusade to protect the historic areas of Istanbul that property developer Ahmet Oden seeks to destroy and rebuild.

As Ikmen searches for the lost child and the facts behind Ariadne's death, the people of Istanbul rise up in protest against their government in Gezi Park. Amid the chaos, Ikmen and his colleague Mehmet Suleyman must unravel a tale of ancient hostility and modern desires, to find the truth concealed within the secret history of their antique city.

What readers are saying about Land of the Blind:

'I am always amazed at how Nadel captures the ever-changing climate of the ancient city, which is growing more modern by the day'

'If you're looking for a masterclass in how to open a thriller, I suggest you read the first two pages of Barbara Nadel's latest book, Land of the Blind. It's the start of a rich and taut mystery, expertly crafted and atmospherically set in the extraordinary city of Istanbul'

'[Nadel] seems to getright under the skin of the city of Istanbul and the people until you can almost smell the coffee'

Genre: Mystery    Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Snakehead
(Yan & Campbell, book 4)
Peter May
thumb
The Killing Room
(Yan & Campbell, book 3)
Peter May
thumb
The Fourth Sacrifice
(Yan & Campbell, book 2)
Peter May

Used availability for Barbara Nadel's Land of the Blind

Hardback Editions

January 2015 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17): A fast-paced Istanbul-based crime thriller
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-4722-1376-9 / 978-1-4722-1376-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

September 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17)
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-4722-3192-9 / 978-1-4722-3192-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17): A fast-paced Istanbul-based crime thriller (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries)
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-4722-1378-5 / 978-1-4722-1378-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17): A fast-paced Istanbul-based crime thriller (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries)
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-4722-1377-7 / 978-1-4722-1377-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

April 2018 : Audio CD

Title: Land Of The Blind
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-78706-629-0 / 978-1-78706-629-8
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : Audio CD

Title: Land Of The Blind
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
ISBN: 1-78706-665-7 / 978-1-78706-665-6
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Land of the Blind: Inspector Ikman Mystery, Book 17
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   


February 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Land of the Blind: Inspector Ikman Mystery, Book 17
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Land of the Blind: Inspector Ikman Mystery, Book 17
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17): A fast-paced Istanbul-based crime thriller
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2015 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17): A fast-paced Istanbul-based crime thriller (Inspector Ikmen Series)
Author(s): Barbara Nadel
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK