Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's picture
Followed by 20 of our members

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

UK flag (1859 - 1930)

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was born in Edinburgh and studied medicine. He began writing while he waited for his practice to grow and, with 1887's A Study in Scarlet, created Sherlock Holmes, one of the most famous literary characters of all time. He was a volunteer physician in the Boer War and wrote a book on spiritualism.

Genres: Mystery, Science Fiction, Historical, Literary Fiction
Mysteries and Adventures (1889)
Mysteries and Thrills (1889)
The Captain of the Polestar (1890)
The Gully of Bluemansdyke (1892)
My Friend the Murderer (1893)
The Great Kleinplatz Experiment (1894)
The Man from Archangel (1894)
Round the Red Lamp (1894)
The Green Flag (1900)
The Last Galley (1908)
Round the Fire Stories (1908)
Danger! (1918)
The Great Keinplatz Experiment (1919)
Tales of Adventure and Medical Life (1922)
Tales of Long Ago (1922)
Tales of Pirates and Blue Water (1922)
Tales of Terror and Mystery (1922)
Tales of the Ring and the Camp (1922)
The Black Doctor (1925)
The Conan Doyle Stories (1929)
The Maracot Deep and Other Stories (1929)
Great Stories (1959)
Strange Stories from Life (1963)
When the World Screamed (1968)
The Best Supernatural Stories of Arthur Conan Doyle (1979)
The Edinburgh Stories (1981)
Favourite Spy Stories (1981) (with Joseph Conrad, Alphonse Daudet, Len Deighton, Graham Greene, John Le Carré, William le Queux, Wolfgang Lotz, Sax Rohmer and Dennis Wheatley)
The Best Science Fiction of Arthur Conan Doyle (1981)
Uncollected Stories (1982)
The Supernatural Tales of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1988)
The Best Horror Stories of Arthur Conan Doyle (1990)
Classic Detective Stories From a Suitcase of Suspense (1999) (with Agatha Christie, Jacques Futrelle, Frank Gruber and Stuart Palmer)
The White Company and Sir Nigel (2000)
Classic Detective Stories (2003) (with G K Chesterton and Sapper)
Best of Sherlock Holmes 1 (2004)
Best of Sherlock Holmes 2 (2004)
Best of Sherlock Holmes 3 (2004)
Best of Sherlock Holmes 4 (2004)
Sherlock: The Essential Arthur Conan Doyle Adventures (2015) (with Mark Gatiss and Steven Moffat)
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Short stories
The Adventure of Black Peter
The Adventure of Charles Augustus Milverton
The Adventure of Shoscombe Old Place
The Adventure of the Abbey Grange
The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet
The Adventure of the Blanched Soldier
The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle
The Adventure of the Cardboard Box
The Adventure of the Copper Beeches
The Adventure of the Creeping Man
The Adventure of the Dancing Men
The Adventure of the Empty House
The Adventure of the Engineer's Thumb
The Adventure of the Golden Pince-Nez
The Adventure of the Illustrious Client
The Adventure of the Lion's Mane
The Adventure of the Missing Three-Quarter
The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor
The Adventure of the Norwood Builder
The Adventure of the Red-Headed League
The Adventure of the Retired Colourman
The Adventure of the Second Stain
The Adventure of the Six Napoleons
The Adventure of the Solitary Cyclist
The Adventure of the Tall Man
The Adventure of the Three Gables
The Adventure of the Three Garridebs
The Adventure of the Three Students
The Adventure of the Veiled Lodger
B. 24
The Beetle Hunter
Behind the Times
The Black Doctor [short story]
The Blighting of Sharkey
The Boscombe Valley Mystery
The Brazilian Cat
Captain Sharkey: How the Governor of Saint Kitt's Came Home
A Case of Identity
The Case of Lady Sannox
The Case of the Man Who was Wanted
The Clubfooted Grocer
The Coming of the Huns
The Contest
Crabbe's Practice
The Crime of the Brigadier
The Crooked Man
The Croxley Master
The Curse of Eve
The Dealings of Captain Sharkey with Stephen Craddock
The Debut of Bimbashi Joyce
The Doctors of Hoyland
The Fall of Lord Barrymore
The Field Bazaar
The Fiend of the Cooperage
The Final Problem
The First Cargo
The Five Orange Pips
The Friend of the Cooperage
Giant Maximin
The 'Gloria Scott'
The Great Brown-Pericord Motor
The Greek Interpreter
The Green Flag [short story]
His First Operation
His Last Bow [short story]
The Home-Coming
How Copley Banks Slew Captain Sharkey
How Watson Learned the Trick
An Iconoclast
The Japanned Box
Jelland's Voyage
The Jew's Breastplate
The King of the Foxes
The Last Galley [short story]
The Last of the Legions
The Lift
The Lord of Chateau Noir
The Lord of Falconbridge
Lot No. 249
The Man from Archangel [short story]
The Man with the Twisted Lip
The Man with the Watches
The Marriage of the Brigadier
A Medical Document
The Musgrave Ritual
The Mystery of Uncle Jeremy's Household
The New Catacomb
The Nightmare Room
The Parish Magazine
A Physiologist's Wife
A Pirate of the Land
The Pot of Caviare
The Red Star
The Reigate Puzzle
The Resident Patient
A Scandal in Bohemia
The Sealed Room
The 'Slapping Sal'
The Stock-Broker's Clerk
The Story of the Lost Special
A Straggler of '15
The Striped Chest
The Surgeon of Gaster Fell [short story]
The Surgeon Talks
The Terror of Blue John Gap
That Little Square Box
The Third Generation
The Three Correspondents
The Usher of Lea House School
When the World Screamed [short story]
The Yellow Face
The Captain of the 'Polestar' (1883)
J Habakuk Jephson's Statement (1884)
John Barrington Cowles (1884)
The Great Keinplatz Experiment [short story] (1885)
A Literary Mosaic (1886)
The Ring of Thoth (1890)
The Adventure of Silver Blaze (1892)
The Adventure of the Speckled Band (1892)
'De Profundis' (1892)
The Los Amigos Fiasco (1892)
Lot No.249 (1892)
The Parasite [short story] (1894)
The Brown Hand (1899)
The Leather Funnel (1900)
Playing with Fire (1900)
The Adventure of the Priory School (1904)
Borrowed Scenes (1906)
The Adventure of the Bruce-Partington Plans (1908)
The Silver Mirror (1908)
Through the Veil (1911)
The Horror of the Heights (1913)
How It Happened (1913)
The Bully of Brocas Court (1921)
A Point of Contact (1922)
The Adventure of the Sussex Vampire (1924)

Books about Sir Arthur Conan Doyle