Dorothy L Sayers's picture

Dorothy L Sayers

(Dorothy Leigh Sayers)
UK flag (1893 - 1957)

Dorothy L. Sayers is the author of novels, short stories, poetry collections, essays, reviews and translations. Although she was a noted Christian scholar, she is most known for her detective fiction. Born in 1893, she was one of the first women to be awarded a degree from Oxford University. Her first book featuring Lord Peter Wimsey, Whose Body?, was published in 1923 and over the next 20 years more novels and short stories about the aristocratic amateur sleuth appeared. Dorothy L. Sayers is recognized as one of the greatest mystery writers of the 20th century.

Genres: Mystery, Historical
Anthologies edited
no image availablethumbno image availableno image available
thumbthumbno image availableno image available
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Dorothy L Sayers
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
thumbno image availableno image availableno image available
Short stories
Bitter Almonds
The Image in the Mirror
A Matter of Taste
The Necklace of Pearls
One Too Many
The Cave of Ali Baba (1928)
The Cyprian Cat (1933)
Absolutely Elsewhere (1934)

Books about Dorothy L Sayers
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
Dorothy L Sayers recommends
The Purple Cloud (1901)
M P Shiel
"The very accent of Edgar Allan Poe."
Duplicate Death (1951)
(Inspector Hemingway, book 3)
Georgette Heyer
"Miss Heyer's characters and dialogue are an abiding delight to me... I have seldom met people to whom I have taken so violent a fancy from the word 'Go'."
Dark of the Moon (1967)
(Dr. Gideon Fell, book 23)
John Dickson Carr
"He can create atmosphere with an adjective, alarm with an allusion, or delight with rollicking absurdity. In short, he can write."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors