book cover of Not By Blood
Added by 6 members
 

Not By Blood

(2023)
A novel by

 
 
In the tradition of Harlan Coben and Karin Slaughter comes Chris Narozny’s Not by Blood, a tense and twisty debut thriller about the extraordinary measures one woman will take to save her family.

When Tina Evans gets a call from her brother in the middle of the night, she doesn’t think much of it; she’s been fielding distress calls from Bill for the last twenty years, ever since the day their father killed their mother.

At first, this call seems just like all the others: Bill’s holed up in a Brooklyn drug den and needs her to come rescue him. But when Tina gets there, her brother’s nowhere to be found. Instead, she discovers the body of a private detective hidden in the junk heap out back. He’s been shot to death, and his gun is missing from its holster.

Tina’s about to dial 911 when she receives a three-letter text message from a number she doesn’t recognize: “Shh...”

Tina doesn’t believe in coincidence—the death of this detective and her brother’s disappearance must be related. But how? Could it be her father pulling the strings from his prison cell? And is she willing to risk her own freedom—and her life—to uncover the truth?

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Not By Blood is an unforgettable novel about the legacy of violence and addiction, the secrets we keep, and the lengths we go to protect the ones we love. Narozny writes with confidence and subtle grace, yet still manages to punch you in the emotional gut. This is the debut everyone will be talking about." - Alex Finlay

"Chris Narozny ratchets up the tension one agonizing notch at a time in this psychological thriller about trauma, addiction, and memory. In a world of secrets lurking just beyond reach, EMT Tina Evans must face an array of personal demons, including her own broken family. Not By Blood reads like a midnight ride in a speeding ambulance, where your life is on the line and the most dangerous people may be the ones closest to home." - Christopher Swann


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Chris Narozny's Not By Blood


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors