book cover of Architects of Memory
Added by 1 of our members

Architects of Memory

(2020)
(The first book in the Memory War series)
A novel by

 
 
Millions died after the first contact. An alien weapon holds the key to redemption—or annihilation. Experience Karen Osborne's unforgettable science fiction debut, Architects of Memory.

Terminally ill salvage pilot Ash Jackson lost everything in the war with the alien Vai, but she'll be damned if she loses her future. Her plan: to buy, beg, or lie her way out of corporate indenture and find a cure. When her crew salvages a genocidal weapon from a ravaged starship above a dead colony, Ash uncovers a conspiracy of corporate intrigue and betrayal that threatens to turn her into a living weapon.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"A thrilling labyrinth of plot twists exploring loyalty, trust, and promises." - Sue Burke

"... A plot twisty, heart-stealing delight. It's the whole space opera package: the Vai are some of the most perspective-shifting, most poignant, most alien extraterrestrials I've ever encountered, the corporate overlords have their scum dials turned up to eleven, and the love story at its core is tragic and hopeful and beautiful all at once. It's a safe bet that this debut is the start of something really special." - Bryan Camp

"Kick-ass and poetic." - Emily Devenport

"A nonstop dystopian space opera adventure that screams F*** CAPITALISM at the top of its lungs. Equal amounts sweet and painful, but 100% human, this is a mystery and a treatise and a nail-biting kick to the stomach all in one." - K A Doore

"Architects of Memory is the queer, nail-biting lovechild of the humanity of The Expanse and the action-fast pulse of Die Hard, and I loved every minute of it." - A J Hackwith

"An absolutely stunning debut . . . razor-tipped and diamond-sharp. A deadly first shot from one of the most incisive new voices in the genre." - Tyler Hayes

"Exciting and scary and fun and smart and sad and moving all at the same time. You need this book in your life." - Sam J Miller

"Far-future corporate dystopia plus deep-space mystery plus powerful character drama. For fans of Firefly, Killjoys, and The Wrong Stars." - Michael R Underwood

"Completely heartbreaking. Utterly brilliant." - K B Wagers


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Driftwood
(Driftwood, book 1)
Marie Brennan

Paperback Editions

September 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Architects of Memory (The Memory War (1))
Author(s): Karen Osborne
ISBN: 1-250-21547-1 / 978-1-250-21547-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

August 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Architects of Memory: The Memory War Series, Book 1
Author(s): Karen Osborne
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

September 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Architects of Memory (The Memory War Book 1)
Author(s): Karen Osborne
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU