book cover of The Merciful Crow
Added by 14 of our members

The Merciful Crow

(2019)
(The first book in the Merciful Crow series)
A novel by

 
 
A Tor.com Best of 2019 Pick
A 2020 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick

Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake—in
The Merciful Crow.

"Packed to the teeth with fresh worldbuilding and righteous fury...It's a ride that is wildly fun."—Emily A. Duncan, New York Times-bestselling author of Wicked Saints

"Rich, harrowing, and unafraid to tackle discrimination—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi."—Kirkus, Starred Review

One way or another, we always feed the crows.

A future chieftain

Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.

A fugitive prince

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses—and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns.

A too-cunning bodyguard

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"Packed to the teeth with fresh worldbuilding and righteous fury...It's a ride that is wildly fun." - Emily A Duncan

"The Merciful Crow is an intense, romantic adventure with unforgettable magic and a ferocious heroine I'd gladly follow down a long, dark road." - Tessa Gratton

"One of the most exciting, exceptionally crafted fantasy debuts I've ever read. I did not want to leave this world! Absolutely breathtaking." - Claire Legrand


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Storm Crow
(Storm Crow, book 1)
Kalyn Josephson
thumb
Forest of Souls
(Shamanborn, book 1)
Lori M Lee
thumb
Unravel the Dusk
(Blood of Stars, book 2)
Elizabeth Lim

Used availability for Margaret Owen's The Merciful Crow

Hardback Editions

July 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow Series (1))
Author(s): Margaret Owen
ISBN: 1-250-19192-0 / 978-1-250-19192-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow Series (1))
Author(s): Margaret Owen
ISBN: 1-250-25094-3 / 978-1-250-25094-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Square Fish
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow Series)
Author(s): Margaret Owen
ISBN: 1-250-21190-5 / 978-1-250-21190-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Merciful Crow
Author(s): Margaret Owen
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Merciful Crow
Author(s): Margaret Owen
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Merciful Crow
Author(s): Margaret Owen
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Merciful Crow
Author(s): Margaret Owen
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow Series Book 1)
Author(s): Margaret Owen
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU