book cover of The Eighth Detective
Added by 77 of our members

The Eighth Detective

(2020)
(Eight Detectives)
A novel by

 
 
Discover the most original murder mystery that will have you guessing until the very last page . . .

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BARRY AWARD FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL
SUNDAY TIMES
CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH

'Alex Pavesi knows the genre inside out. One of the year's most entertaining crime novels' SUNDAY TIMES

'When did you last read a genuinely original thriller? The wait is over'
A. J. FINN, bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

'An elegantly structured, intellectually challenging and completely unique thriller that grips like a vice'
SOPHIE HANNAH
________

All murder mysteries follow a simple set of rules.


Grant McAllister, an author of crime fiction and professor of mathematics, once sat down and worked them all out.

But that was thirty years ago. Now he's living a life of seclusion on a quiet Mediterranean island - until Julia Hart, a sharp, ambitious editor, knocks on his door. His early work is being republished and together the two of them must revisit those old stories.

An author, hiding from his past, and an editor, probing inside it.

But as she reads the stories, Julia is unsettled to realise that there are parts that don't make sense. Intricate clues that seem to reference a real murder.

One that's remained unsolved for thirty years . . .

If Julia wants answers, she must triumph in a battle of wits with a dangerously clever adversary.
________

Winner of the Capital Crimes Reader Award for Debut Book of the Year.


But she must tread carefully: she knows there's a mystery, but she doesn't yet realise there's already been a murder . . .

'A box of delights . . . Pavesi's revelations are completely unexpected, right up to the end' New York Times

'This super-smart homage to the Agatha Christie tradition is a must. Stylish, ingenious and great fun' Sunday Mirror

'Has an intricacy rare in modern crime fiction. Alex Pavesi deserves huge applause for his plot, constructed with all the skill of the old masters' Sunday Express

'I couldn't put Eight Detectives down . . . I genuinely wanted to applaud at the end'
Alex North, bestselling author of The Whisper Man

'So, so clever. Agatha Christie would take her hat off to this one - bravo!'
Sarah Pinborough, author of Behind Her Eyes

'Ingenious . . . perfect for fans of Agatha Christie' Best

'An ingenious exploration of the crime genre'Literary Review

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Alex Pavesi has written one of the most creative detective novels of the year…if not of all time. Sharp writing, crisp dialogue, and the end will leave you reeling. An incredible debut novel!" - Samantha Downing

"Dizzying, dazzling - a potent potion of a thriller, a brew of bibliophilia (think The Shadow of the Wind), wire-taut tension (The Talented Mr. Ripley), and plot swerves so sharp and sudden you risk whiplash with each turn of the page, as bold as the best of Michael Connelly and Lisa Gardner. When did you last read a genuinely original thriller? The wait is over." - A J Finn

"An absolute triumph of a novel. I read it in two greedy gulps. Intelligent and compelling storytelling. Utterly brilliant." - Ali Land

"It's rare for me to read a book in a single day, but I couldn't put The Eighth Detective down. Compelling, clever, and beautifully-constructed. It deserves to be huge. I genuinely wanted to applaud at the end." - Alex North

"In The Eighth Detective, Alex Pavesi constructs a remarkable puzzle that turns readers into literary detectives with every new twist. Both a celebration and a reinvention of mystery fiction." - Matthew Pearl

"So, so clever. A twisty story and an education in the math of murder mysteries. Agatha Christie would take her hat off to this one. Bravo!" - Sarah Pinborough


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Alex Pavesi's The Eighth Detective

Hardback Editions

August 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Eight Detectives: The Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month
Author(s): Alex Pavesi
ISBN: 0-241-43356-8 / 978-0-241-43356-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Eighth Detective: A Novel
Author(s): Alex Pavesi
ISBN: 1-250-75593-X / 978-1-250-75593-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Eight Detectives: The Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month
Author(s): Alex Pavesi
ISBN: 1-4059-4497-8 / 978-1-4059-4497-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Eighth Detective: A Novel
Author(s): Alex Pavesi
ISBN: 1-250-79847-7 / 978-1-250-79847-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Eight Detectives
Author(s): Alex Pavesi
ISBN: 1-4059-5122-2 / 978-1-4059-5122-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin UK
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Eight Detectives: The Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month
Author(s): Alex Pavesi
ISBN: 0-241-43357-6 / 978-0-241-43357-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Eight Detectives
Author(s): Alex Pavesi
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Eight Detectives
Author(s): Alex Pavesi
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Eighth Detective: A Novel
Author(s): Alex Pavesi
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

August 2020 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Eight Detectives: The Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month
Author(s): Alex Pavesi
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2020 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Eighth Detective: A Novel
Author(s): Alex Pavesi
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Availability: Amazon