book cover of The Lesser Devil
Added by 3 of our members

The Lesser Devil

(2020)
(A book in the Sun Eater series)
A novel by

 
 
CAN THE YOUNGEST SON OF A NOBLE HOUSE SAVE HIS FAMILY FROM A PLOT GENERATIONS IN THE MAKING?

Crispin Marlowe grew up in his brother’s shadow, but Hadrian is gone, and his grandmother—the duchess of Delos—is dying.

Answering her summons, Crispin takes off on what should be a routine flight to the ducal palace from the castle at Devil’s Rest. But he is flying into a trap. There are whispers of treachery among the duchess’s many daughters, rumors of hidden knives in the planet’s court . . . if he can even make it there.

With no one coming to save him and only his sister, Sabine, and a few injured guardsmen to protect him, House Marlowe’s least famous son must make his heroic stand, and contend not only the foes arrayed against his house, but with the cultists who dwell in the mountains above his family’s ancestral home . . . .

PRAISE FOR THE LESSER DEVIL:

"A deep and vividly told story that promises an even larger epic in the main body of the series. It's science fiction in the vein and legacy of Dune with its own satisfying voice." – R.R. Virdi, Two-Time Dragon Award-Finalist, Nebula-Finalist, Amazon Bestselling Author

PRAISE FOR CHRISTOPHER RUOCCHIO:

"Empire of Silence is epic science fiction at its most genuinely epic. Ruocchio has made something fascinating here, and I can't wait to see what he does next." —James S.A. Corey, New York Times-bestselling author of The Expanse novels

“Empire of Silence is a rich tapestry of future history and worldbuilding, a galactic-sized story of a hero, a tyrant, but portrayed as a man.” —Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times-bestselling author of The Dark Between the Stars

"Space opera fans will savor the rich details of Ruocchio’s far-future debut, which sets the scene for a complicated series.... Readers who like a slow-building story with a strong character focus will find everything they’re looking for in this series opener." —Publishers Weekly

"Although stretched across a vast array of planets, the story line is often more focused on the intimate than on the expanse, giving it a wonderful emotional punch. This wow book is a must for fans of Pierce Brown and Patrick Rothfuss." —Library Journal (starred review)

Genre: Science Fiction

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Deal with the Devil
(Mercenary Librarians, book 1)
Kit Rocha
thumb
Ghost Engine
(Shining Worlds, book 1)
Charles Stross

Used availability for Christopher Ruocchio's The Lesser Devil

Paperback Editions

February 2020 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lesser Devil (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

April 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lesser Devil
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


April 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lesser Devil
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lesser Devil
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lesser Devil
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lesser Devil (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU