book cover of The Initiate Brother Duology
Added by 1 of our members

The Initiate Brother Duology

(A book in the Initiate Brother series)
An omnibus of novels by

Sean Russell's acclaimed duology, The Initiate Brother and Gatherer of Clouds, together in one omnibus edition for the first time!

Plague and warfare have swept across the ancient kingdom of Wa, devastating the royal line and leaving a new dynasty on the throne - a new Emperor, Akantsu, filled with fear of all who might seek to wrest the Empire from his grasp. Among those out of favor with the new liege is the Order of the Botahist Monks, whose mystical powers have enabled them to hold positions as Spiritual Advisors to the Imperial court for nearly ten centuries. But Emperor Akantsu fears none so greatly as he does Lord Shonto, the brilliant leader of the most important of the old families, whose influence could rally the Great Houses against the throne, and whose adopted daughter, the beautiful and talented Lady Nishima, is the last surviving member of the old royal family.

Sent to be military governor of a northern border province long threatened by barbarian invaders, Lord Shonto knows he is being lured to his death. But Akantsu has underestimated his foe, for not only is Lord Shonto the greatest military genius of the age, but he has with him a Spiritual Advisor from the Botahist Order - a young man gifted with extraordinary martial arts skills and magical abilities, Initiate Brother Shuyun. And even Lord Shonto does not realize the true potential of this young monk. Only time will reveal that Shuyun's magical powers have not seen their equal in nearly a thousand years - not since the Perfect Master himself walked the paths of the Empire...

Genre: Fantasy

Similar books by other authors

Age of Myth
(Legends of the First Empire, book 1)
Michael J Sullivan

Used availability for Sean Russell's The Initiate Brother Duology

Paperback Editions

July 2013 : USA Paperback

Title: The Initiate Brother Duology
Author(s): Sean Russell
ISBN: 0-7564-0802-4 / 978-0-7564-0802-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

July 2013 : USA, Canada Kindle edition

Title: The Initiate Brother Duology
Author(s): Sean Russell
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA