book cover of The Editor

The Editor

(2019)
A novel by

 
 

'Delicately observed'Sunday Times

'Laugh-out-loud funny and searingly poignant' Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of Daisy Jones and the Six

One of PopSugar's 'Buzzy Books to Read This Spring'

'The Editor is a sweet and charming novel, perfect for fans of Jackie O and Rowley's first novel, Lily and the Octopus, alike' PopSugar

_____________________________________________________________

After years of struggling as a writer in 1990s New York City, James Smale finally gets his big break when his novel sells to an editor at a major publishing house:none other than Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. Jackie, or Mrs. Onassis as she's known in the office, loves James's candidly autobiographical novel, about his own dysfunctional family.

As Jackie and James develop an unexpected friendship, she pushes him to write an authentic ending, encouraging him to confront the truth about his relationship with his mother. But when a long-held family secret is revealed, he realises his editor may have had a larger plan that goes beyond the page...

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"Told with warmth and humour – the story of a mother-son reconciliation, facilitated by a most unlikely fairy godmother…delightful." - Chloe Benjamin

"The Editor will have you weeping tears of joy when it's not quietly breaking your heart. It's a study of mothers and sons, unlikely friendships, and how we go about collecting the scattered pieces of our pasts. It takes guts, humour, and immense talent to write a book like this. Lucky for us, Rowley has plenty of all three." - Grant Ginder

"At equal turns laugh-out-loud funny and searingly poignant, Rowley has created a truly unforgettable story of a son trying to understand his mother. The Editor is one of those exceptional stories that is both a joy to read on every page and also deeply profound and significant. It took my breath away." - Taylor Jenkins Reid


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Steven Rowley's The Editor

Hardback Editions

April 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Editor (Thorndike Press Large Print Core)
Author(s): Steven Rowley
ISBN: 1-4328-6327-4 / 978-1-4328-6327-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Editor
Author(s): Steven Rowley
ISBN: 0-525-53796-1 / 978-0-525-53796-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Editor
Author(s): Steven Rowley
ISBN: 0-00-833324-6 / 978-0-00-833324-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Editor
Author(s): Steven Rowley
ISBN: 0-525-54299-X / 978-0-525-54299-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Editor
Author(s): Steven Rowley
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Editor
Author(s): Steven Rowley
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Editor
Author(s): Steven Rowley
ISBN: 1-984839-59-4 / 978-1-984839-59-6
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Editor
Author(s): Steven Rowley
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Editor
Author(s): Steven Rowley
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Editor
Author(s): Steven Rowley
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Editor
Author(s): Steven Rowley
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA