book cover of In the Ravenous Dark
Added by 5 of our members
 

In the Ravenous Dark

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
A pansexual bloodmage reluctantly teams up with an undead spirit to start a rebellion among the living and the dead, in this dark YA fantasy by A.M. Strickland, author of Beyond the Black Door, whom Richard Kadrey calls “a storyteller of both grace and power.”

In Thanopolis, those gifted with magic are assigned undead spirits to guard them—and control them. Ever since Rovan’s father died trying to keep her from this fate, she’s hidden her magic. But when she accidentally reveals her powers, she’s bound to a spirit and thrust into a world of palace intrigue and deception.

Desperate to escape, Rovan finds herself falling for two people she can’t fully trust: Lydea, a beguiling, rebellious princess; and Ivrilos, the handsome spirit with the ability to control Rovan, body and soul.

Together, they uncover a secret that will destroy Thanopolis. To save them all, Rovan will have to start a rebellion in both the mortal world and the underworld, and find a way to trust the princess and spirit battling for her heart—if she doesn’t betray them first.

An Imprint Book

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"An utterly mesmerizing story of romance and found family. Strickland builds a deliciously dark and wonderfully intricate world full of blood, magic, and monsters that I wanted to be lost in forever." - Emily A Duncan

"Strickland is a storyteller of both grace and power." - Richard Kadrey

"A deviously plotted tale of twisting complexity where diversity lives and breathes as naturally as a beating heart. It’s everything you could want in a dark fantasy." - Lisa Maxwell

"[A] feast of forbidden magics and deadly romances that keeps you on the edge of your seat until the last bloody page. Deliciously dark and riveting, it will leave you hungry for more. Perfect for fans of Wicked Saints and Gideon the Ninth." - Ashley Poston


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for A M Strickland's In the Ravenous Dark

Hardback Editions

May 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: In the Ravenous Dark
Author(s): A M Strickland
ISBN: 1-5293-7046-9 / 978-1-5293-7046-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: In the Ravenous Dark
Author(s): A M Strickland
ISBN: 1-250-77660-0 / 978-1-250-77660-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Imprint
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: In the Ravenous Dark
Author(s): A M Strickland
ISBN: 1-5293-7050-7 / 978-1-5293-7050-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2022 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: In the Ravenous Dark
Author(s): A M Strickland
ISBN: 1-250-83327-2 / 978-1-250-83327-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Square Fish
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: In the Ravenous Dark
Author(s): A M Strickland
ISBN: 1-5293-7047-7 / 978-1-5293-7047-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: In the Ravenous Dark
Author(s): A M Strickland
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon   


May 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: In the Ravenous Dark
Author(s): A M Strickland
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: In the Ravenous Dark
Author(s): A M Strickland
Publisher: Macmillan Young Listeners
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: In the Ravenous Dark
Author(s): A M Strickland
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: In the Ravenous Dark
Author(s): A M Strickland
Publisher: Imprint
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: In the Ravenous Dark
Author(s): A M Strickland
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU