book cover of The Court of Broken Knives

The Court of Broken Knives

(2017)
(The first book in the Empires of Dust series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
British Fantasy Society Best Novel (nominee)
Perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence and R. Scott Bakker, The Court of Broken Knives is the explosive debut by one of grimdark fantasy's most exciting new voices.

They've finally looked at the graveyard of our empire with open eyes. They're fools and madmen and like the art of war. And their children go hungry while we piss gold and jewels into the dust.

In the richest empire the world has ever known, the city of Sorlost has always stood, eternal and unconquered. But in a city of dreams governed by an imposturous emperor, decadence has become the true ruler and has blinded its inhabitants to their vulnerability. The empire is on the verge of invasion - and only one man can see it.

Haunted by dreams of the empire's demise, Orhan Emmereth has decided to act. On his orders, a company of soldiers cross the desert to reach the city. Once they enter the palace, they have one mission: kill the emperor, then all those who remain. Only from ashes can a new empire be built.

The company is a group of good, ordinary soldiers for whom this is a mission like any other. But the strange boy Marith who walks among them is no ordinary soldier. Marching on Sorlost, Marith thinks he is running away from the past which haunts him. But in the Golden City, his destiny awaits him - beautiful, bloody, and more terrible than anyone could have foreseen.

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"Grim, gritty and fast paced, with great battle scenes! Anna Smith-Spark is one to watch." - Andy Remic


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Red Sister
(Book of the Ancestor, book 1)
Mark Lawrence
thumb
Grey Sister
(Book of the Ancestor, book 2)
Mark Lawrence
thumb
Godblind
(Godblind, book 1)
Anna Stephens

Used availability for Anna Smith-Spark's The Court of Broken Knives

Hardback Editions

June 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Court of Broken Knives (Empires of Dust, Book 1)
Author(s): Anna Smith Spark
ISBN: 0-00-820406-3 / 978-0-00-820406-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Court of Broken Knives (Empires of Dust, Book 1)
Author(s): Anna Smith Spark
ISBN: 0-00-820418-7 / 978-0-00-820418-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Court of Broken Knives (Empires of Dust)
Author(s): Anna Smith Spark
ISBN: 0-316-51142-0 / 978-0-316-51142-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Court of Broken Knives (Empires of Dust, Book 1)
Author(s): Anna Smith Spark
ISBN: 0-00-820407-1 / 978-0-00-820407-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

August 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Court of Broken Knives
Author(s): Anna Smith Spark
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Court of Broken Knives
Author(s): Anna Smith Spark
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Court of Broken Knives: Empires of Dust, Book 1
Author(s): Anna Smith Spark
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Court of Broken Knives: Empires of Dust, Book 1
Author(s): Anna Smith Spark
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Court of Broken Knives (Empires of Dust, Book 1)
Author(s): Anna Smith Spark
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Court of Broken Knives (Empires of Dust Book 1)
Author(s): Anna Smith Spark
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA