Adrian Tchaikovsky's picture

Adrian Tchaikovsky

UK flag (b.1972)

Adrian Tchaikovsky was born in Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire before heading off to Reading to study psychology and zoology. For reasons unclear even to himself he subsequently ended up in law and has worked as a legal executive in both Reading and Leeds, where he now lives. Married, he is a keen live role-player and occasional amateur actor, has trained in stage-fighting, and keeps no exotic or dangerous pets of any kind, possibly excepting his son.

He is the author of the critically acclaimed Shadows of the Apt series, the Echoes of the Fall series, and several stand-alone novels, including Children of Time, the winner of the 30th Anniversary Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction Novel.

Genres: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Horror
Series contributed to
Afterblight Chronicles
   15. The Bloody Deluge (2014)
   Journal of the Plague Year (omnibus) (2014) (with Malcolm Cross and CB Harvey)
Arthur C. Clarke Award Best Book winner (2016) : Children of Time
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (2016) : Guns of the Dawn
British Fantasy Society Best Novel winner (2017) : The Tiger and the Wolf

Adrian Tchaikovsky recommends
The Shadow of Black Wings (2012)
(Year of the Dragon, book 1)
James Calbraith
"Fast paced and full of energy."
The Copper Promise (2014)
(Copper Cat Trilogy, book 1)
Jen Williams
"A fast-paced and original new voice in heroic fantasy."
The Queen of the Tearling (2014)
(Queen of the Tearling, book 1)
Erika Johansen
"A fast-paced and original fantasy, written with a confident and accomplished style, with plenty of intrigue and mystery."
The Mirror Empire (2014)
(Worldbreaker Saga, book 1)
Kameron Hurley
"The Mirror Empire is the most original fantasy I've read in a long time, set in a world full of new ideas, expanding the horizons of the genre. A complex and intricate book full of elegant ideas and finely-drawn characters."
The Guns of Ivrea (2016)
(Tale of Valdur, book 1)
Clifford Beal
"Fast-paced, intelligent fantasy action. A fascinating tale of intrigue, magic and war."
Stranger of Tempest (2016)
(God Fragments, book 1)
Tom Lloyd
". . . tightly written heroic fantasy with deftly drawn characters in an intriguing, action-filled world."
Rosewater (2017)
(Wormwood Trilogy, book 1)
Tade Thompson
"A magnificent tour de force, skilfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas."
The Never King (2017)
James Abbott
"Engaging heroic fantasy in the vein of Gemmell and Gwynne."
The Court of Broken Knives (2017)
(Empires of Dust, book 1)
Anna Smith-Spark
"Fierce, gripping fantasy, exquisitely written; bitter, funny and heart-rending by turns."
A Man of Shadows (2017)
(Nyquist Mysteries, book 1)
Jeff Noon
"A disturbing and bizarre journey by one of the great masters of weird fiction."
Embers of War (2018)
(Embers of War, book 1)
Gareth L Powell
"Fast, exhilarating space opera, imaginative and full of life."
Semiosis (2018)
(Semiosis Duology, book 1)
Sue Burke
"This is top class SF, intelligent and engaging and I loved every moment of it."
City of Lies (2018)
(Poison Wars, book 1)
Sam Hawke
"An enormously enjoyable read, one of the best new fantasies I’ve seen in a long time."
Lost Gods (2018)
(Lost Gods , book 1)
Micah Yongo
"Yongo invigorates the epic fantasy genre with his original and accomplished voice in the striking and throroughly enjoyable Lost Gods."
War Criminals (2018)
(Bastard Legion, book 3)
Gavin Smith
"Fluid, fast and excellently written."
Hidden Sun (2018)
(Shadowlands Duology, book 1)
Jaine Fenn
"A fascinating and finely written exploration of the human and the alien."
Beneath the World, a Sea (2019)
Chris Beckett
"A disturbing descent into a surreal world, written with a deft hand."
The Ruthless (2019)
(Deathless , book 2)
Peter Newman
"Original and engrossing."
The Beasts In The Arena (2019)
Sophia McDougall
"this is a magnificent series."
The Bone Ships (2019)
(Tide Child Trilogy, book 1)
RJ Barker
"The Bone Ships is excellent. Aside from the standout writing, it's one of the most interesting and original fantasy worlds I've seen in years."
By Force Alone (2020)
Lavie Tidhar
"A twisted Arthur retelling mixing the historical and the magical with a very modern eye. Brutal and vicious, funny, Peaky Blinders of the Round Table."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors