book cover of Echoes of the Goddess

Echoes of the Goddess

(2013)
Tales of Terror and Wonder from the End of Time
A collection of stories by

 
 
"[This] novel has immense power in its climax," said The Encyclopedia of Fantasy about Darrell Schweitzer's 1982 novel, THE SHATTERED GODDESS. Now, at last, here's the companion volume to that work, a cycle of eleven stories set "in the time of the death of the Goddess." This is an Earth of the far future, when the planet has declined into chaos, and darkness looms at the end of human history. Here you'll meet...a dadar, a wizard's shadow attempting to become a man; two sorcerers grotesquely transformed by their fratricidal hatred; a musician who becomes the lord of death; a boy-priest consumed by divine visions; and a witch who loves a god, among many others. Here's strangeness, wonder, and terror in the tradition of Clark Ashton Smith's Xothique or Jack Vance's The Dying Earth. Schweitzer is a master fantasist, whom anthologist Mike Ashley once called "today's supreme stylist."

Great fantasy reading, now collected into book form for the first time!

Genre: Fantasy

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Darrell Schweitzer's Echoes of the Goddess

Paperback Editions

February 2013 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Echoes of the Goddess: Tales of Terror and Wonder from the End of Time
Author(s): Darrell Schweitzer
ISBN: 1-4794-0023-8 / 978-1-4794-0023-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Borgo Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2013 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Echoes of the Goddess: Tales of Terror and Wonder from the End of Time
Author(s): Darrell Schweitzer
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2013 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Echoes of the Goddess: Tales of Terror and Wonder from the End of Time
Author(s): Darrell Schweitzer
Publisher: Wildside Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA