New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Darrell Schweitzer's picture

Darrell Schweitzer

(Darrell Charles Schweitzer)
USA flag (1952 - )

Darrell Schweitzer (born August 27, 1952) is an American writer, editor, and essayist in the field of speculative fiction. Much of his focus has been on dark fantasy and horror, although he does also work in science fiction and fantasy. Schweitzer is also a prolific writer of literary criticism and editor of collections of essays on various writers within his preferred genres.
We Are All Legends (1981)
The Meaning of Life, and Other Awesome Cosmic Revelations (1989)
Transients (1993)
Non Compost Mentis (1995)
Poetica Dementia (1997)
Refugees from an Imaginary Country (1999)
Necromancies and Netherworlds (1999) (with Jason van Hollander)
Nightscapes (2000)
Groping Toward the Light (poems) (2000)
The Great World and the Small (2000)
The Innsmouth Tabernacle Choir Hymnal (poems) (2004)
The Neil Gaiman Reader (2006) (with Neil Gaiman)
The Robert E. Howard Reader (2007) (with Robert E Howard)
Ghosts of Past and Future (poems) (2008)
Deadly Things / Judgment of the Gods (2010) (with Robert Reginald)
The Mystery Megapack (2011) (with Nora Charles, Toni L P Kelner, C Ellett Logan, Johnston McCulley, Marcia Talley, Art Taylor and Elaine Viets)
The Vampire Megapack (2012) (with John David Anderson, Jason Andrew, Zach Bartlett, E F Benson, John Gregory Betancourt, Luigi Capuana, Ray Cluley, Michael R Collings, Peter Darbyshire, Théophile Gautier, Franz Hartmann, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Henry Kuttner, Michael McCarty and Terrie Leigh Relf, Bram Stoker, Lawrence Watt-Evans and Chelsea Quinn Yarbro)
The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack (2012) (with Michael R Collings, John S Glasby, Robert E Howard, T E D Klein, Frank Belknap Long, H P Lovecraft, Brian McNaughton, Clark Ashton Smith, Brian Stableford and Lawrence Watt-Evans)
Echoes of the Goddess (2013)
The Emperor of the Ancient Word (2013)
The Time Travel Megapack (2013) (with John Gregory Betancourt, Reginald Bretnor, Damien Broderick, C J Henderson, Edward M Lerner, Richard A Lupoff, William F Nolan, James H Schmitz and Clifford D Simak)
The Weird Fiction Megapack: 25 Stories from Weird Tales (2014) (with John Gregory Betancourt, Zealia Bishop, Paul Compton, Mary Elizabeth Counselman, Nictzin Dyalhis, Paul Ernst, Robert E Howard, Malcolm Jameson, Jr., Ronal Kayser, Henry Kuttner, Julius Long, H P Lovecraft, Bassett Morgan, Earl Peirce, G.G. Pendarves, E Hoffmann Price, Dorothy Quick, D.W. Rimel, Clark Ashton Smith, Pearl Norton Swet, Steve Rasnic Tem, Howard Wandrei, Manly Wade Wellman and Tennessee Williams)
The Monster MEGAPACK TM (2015) (with Lester del Rey, Harcourt Farmer, George Griffith, C.J. Henderson, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, David H Keller, Jim Kjelgaard, Otis Adelbert Kline, Fritz Leiber, Lewis Lister, Frank Belknap Long, William P McGivern, Mark McLaughlin, A R Morlan, Kathryn Ptacek, Robert Reginald, Pamela Sargent, Brian Stableford, Cynthia Ward, William J. Wintle and George Zebrowski)
Awaiting Strange Gods (2015)
The Witch and Warlock MEGAPACK (2015) (with Skadi meic Beorh, William Root Bliss, M.E. Brines, Lorie Calkins, Joseph Conrad, Janet Fox, Elizabeth Gaskell, Bruce Gehweiler, Nathaniel Hawthorne, C J Henderson, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Launcelot, Mary Leader, Marissa Lingen, Eliza Lynn Linton, H P Lovecraft, Mark McLaughlin, Robert Reginald, Cynthia Ward, Lawrence Watt-Evans, Henry S Whitehead, Lady Wilde and William J. Wintle)
Funny Horror (2017) (with Scott Alexander, Esther Friesner, Julia S Mandala, Jody Lynn Nye, Laura Resnick, Mike Resnick, Alex Shvartsman, Lucy A Snyder and Eric James Stone)

Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Darrell Schweitzer
Short stories
The Story of Obbok (1973)
The Lady of the Fountain (1977)
Divers Hands (1979)
Into the Dark Land (1979)
Jungle Eyes (1985)
Jason, Come Home (1986)
Leaving (1986)
The Children of Lommos (1987) (with John Gregory Betancourt)
Pennies from Hell (1987)
Transients [short story] (1987)
The Man Who wasn't Nice to Pumpkin Head Dolls (1988)
A Vision of Rembathene (1988)
Clocks (1989)
Malevendra's Pool (1989)
The Man Who Found the Heart of the Forest (1989)
Seeing Them (1989)
The Sorcerer to His Long-Lost Love (1989)
Angry Man (1990)
The Paloverde Lodge (1990) (with Jason van Hollander)
Peeling It Off (1990)
Soft (1990)
The Throwing Suit (1990) (with Jason van Hollander)
Short and Nasty (1991)
The Spirit of the Back Stairs (1991)
To Become a Sorcerer (1991)World Fantasy (nominee)
The Outside Man (1992)
The Sorcerer Evoragdou (1993)
He Unwraps Himself (1994)
One of the Secret Masters (1994)
The Witch of the World's End (1994)
The Epilogue of the Sword (1995)
The Knight of Pale Countenance (1995)
Runaway (1995)
Believing in the Twentieth Century (1996)
Sherlock Holmes, Dragon-slayer (the Singular Adventures of the Grice Pattersons in the Island of Uffa) (1996)
Smart Guy (1996)
I Told You So (1997)

World Fantasy Best Novella nominee (1992) : To Become a Sorcerer
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (1994) : Transients: And Other Disquieting Stories
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1995) : The Mask of the Sorcerer
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (2000) : Necromancies and Netherworlds: Uncanny Stories

Darrell Schweitzer recommends
The Devil's Own Dear Son
The Devil's Own Dear Son (1949)
James Branch Cabell
"One of the all-time greats of fantasy, whose cynical yet romantic view of the human comedy is simultaneously hilarious, beautiful, and melancholy. A writer you must read."
Satan's Daughter and Other Tales from the Pulps
Satan's Daughter and Other Tales from the Pulps (2004)
E Hoffmann Price
"Pulp stories at their pulpiest from a master of the form. Enjoy!"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

Search for