Robert Holdstock's picture
Followed by 9 of our members

Robert Holdstock

UK flag (1948 - 2009)

aka Robert Black, Ken Blake, Chris Carlsen, Robert Faulcon, Richard Kirk

Robert Holdstock shared his childhood years between the bleak Romney Marsh and the dense woods of the Kentish heartlands. After several years of research in the field of medical zoology, he became a full-time writer of science fiction and fantasy in 1975.

Genres: Fantasy, Horror, Mystery
Series contributed to
Anthology series
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Encyclopedia of Science Fiction (1978)
Alien Landscapes (1979) (with Malcolm Edwards)
Tour of the Universe (1980) (with Malcolm Edwards)
Magician (1982) (with Malcolm Edwards)
Realms of Fantasy (1983)
Lost Realms (1984)
Anthologies containing stories by Robert Holdstock
Short stories
The Darkness (1972)
Microcosm (1972)
The Graveyard Cross (1976)
Magic Man (1976)
On the Inside (1976)
The Quiet Girl (1978)
Mythago Wood [short story] (1982)World Fantasy (nominee)
Time of the Tree (1988)
Having His Leg Pulled (1993)
Infantasm (1995)

World Fantasy Best Novella nominee (1982) : Mythago Wood [short story]
World Fantasy Best Novel winner (1985) : Mythago Wood
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (1992) : The Bone Forest
World Fantasy Best Novella winner (1992) : The Ragthorn
Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Best Book nominee (1995) : The Hollowing
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1996) : Ancient Echoes
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1998) : Gate of Ivory
Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Best Book nominee (2010) : Avilion

Robert Holdstock recommends
Chimeras (1992)
Christopher Evans
"Vivid, original, beautifully written... Fantasy doesn't get much better than this."
The Darkest Part of the Woods (2002)
Ramsey Campbell
"The undisputed master of the psychological horror novel... 'Dark Visioning' at its very best."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors