book cover of Station Eleven
Added by 23 of our members

Station Eleven

(2014)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Arthur C. Clarke Award Best Book
Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Best Book (nominee)
John W Campbell Memorial Award Best Novel (nominee)
PEN/Faulkner Award for fiction Best Book (nominee)
National Book Award for Fiction Best Book (nominee)
'Best novel. The big one . . . stands above all the others . . . beautifully written, and wonderfully elegiac, a book that I will long remember, and return to.' – George R.R. Martin, author of Game of Thrones.

The New York Times Bestseller
Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award
Longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction
National Book Awards Finalist
PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel is a bold vision of a dystopian future, frighteningly real, perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale.

What was lost in the collapse: almost everything, almost everyone, but there is still such beauty.

One snowy night in Toronto famous actor Arthur Leander dies on stage whilst performing the role of a lifetime. That same evening a deadly virus touches down in North America. The world will never be the same again.

Twenty years later Kirsten, an actress in the Travelling Symphony, performs Shakespeare in the settlements that have grown up since the collapse. But then her newly hopeful world is threatened.

If civilization was lost, what would you preserve? And how far would you go to protect it?

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"Station Eleven is a firework of a novel. Elegantly constructed and packed with explosive beauty, it's full of life and humanity and the aftershock of memory." - Lauren Beukes

"Disturbing, inventive and exciting, Station Eleven left me wistful for a world where I still live." - Jessie Burton

"Best novel. The big one . . . stands above all the others . . . beautifully written, and wonderfully elegiac, a book that I will long remember, and return to." - George R R Martin

"A haunting tale of art and the apocalypse. Station Eleven is an unmissable experience." - Samantha Shannon

"Station Eleven is the kind of book that speaks to dozens of the readers in me - the Hollywood devotee, the comic book fan, the cult junkie, the love lover, the disaster tourist. It is a brilliant novel, and Emily St John Mandel is astonishing." - Emma Straub


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Ancillary Justice
(Imperial Radch, book 1)
Ann Leckie

Used availability for Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven

Hardback Editions

December 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 1-59606-855-8 / 978-1-59606-855-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Subterranean
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2014 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 1-4104-7417-8 / 978-1-4104-7417-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 1-4472-6896-2 / 978-1-4472-6896-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2014 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 0-385-35330-8 / 978-0-385-35330-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2017 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 1-4434-3487-6 / 978-1-4434-3487-4 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


June 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 1-59413-882-6 / 978-1-59413-882-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Large Print Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 0-8041-7244-7 / 978-0-8041-7244-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


2012 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 1-4472-6897-0 / 978-1-4472-6897-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 1-4472-9096-8 / 978-1-4472-9096-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 1-4472-6898-9 / 978-1-4472-6898-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2014 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 1-4434-3486-8 / 978-1-4434-3486-7 (Canada edition)
Publisher: HarperAvenue
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 1-4894-5850-6 / 978-1-4894-5850-6 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Audible audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 1-4894-5851-4 / 978-1-4894-5851-3 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Audible audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


September 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


September 2014 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2014 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Station Eleven: A novel
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 0-553-39807-5 / 978-0-553-39807-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Station Eleven: A Novel
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


2014 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
ISBN: 0-553-54558-2 / 978-0-553-54558-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Books On Tape
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

September 2014 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2014 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Station Eleven: A novel
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   


September 2014 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Station Eleven: A Novel
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
Publisher: HarperAvenue
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2014 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Station Eleven
Author(s): Emily St John Mandel
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon AU