Lucy Strange's picture

Lucy Strange

UK flag

Lucy Strange is a best-selling author who lives in the heart of the Kent countryside with her partner and their young son.

Lucy won the 2014 Montegrappa First Fiction Prize, and has gone on to publish three novels with Chicken House in the UK. Her first novel, The Secret of Nightingale Wood, was published in October 2016 and was the Waterstones Book of the Month, described as ‘startlingly good’ by The Daily Telegraph who placed it at Number 10 in the Top 50 Books of 2016. The US edition was launched in New York at the end of 2017 and was immediately chosen for Amazon’s list of the Best Children’s Books of the Year.

Lucy’s books capture elements of classic children’s literature in a style that is engaging and accessible for today’s younger readers. Often inspired by folklore and fairy tales, Lucy combines historical settings with touches of magical realism and fantasy to create utterly convincing worlds in which anything might happen…

Having trained and worked as an actor, Lucy narrates her own audiobooks, winning the 2019 Audie Award for The Secret of Nightingale Wood.


Genres: Children's Fiction
   The Secret of Nightingale Wood (2016)
   Our Castle by the Sea (2019)
   The Ghost of Gosswater (2020)
     aka The Ghost of Midnight Lake
   Sisters of the Lost Marsh (2021)
   The Mermaid in the Millpond (2022)
   The Storm and the Minotaur (2023)
   The Island at the Edge of Night (2024)
   The River Spirit (2024)

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors