book cover of We Came Here to Shine
Added by 5 of our members

We Came Here to Shine

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
Set during the iconic 1939 New York World's Fair, two intrepid young women--an aspiring journalist and a down-on-her-luck actress--form an unlikely friendship as they navigate a world of endless possibility, stand down adversity, and find out what they are truly made of during the glorious summer of spectacle and opportunity...



"An ode to female friendship that pulses with momentum and left me breathless." --Fiona Davis, national bestselling author of The Chelsea Girls



"A remarkable novel about the challenges women face and the courage they must summon in order to lead the lives they deserve." --Lynda Cohen Loigman, author of The Two-Family House



Vivi Holden is closer than she's ever been to living her dream as a lead actress in sun-dappled L.A., but an unfair turn of events sends her back to New York, a place she worked so hard to escape from. She has one last chance to get back to Hollywood--by performing well as the star of the heralded Aquacade synchronized swimming spectacular at the World's Fair. Everything seems to be working against her, but her summer in New York will lead to her biggest opportunity to find her own way, on her own terms...

Maxine Roth wants nothing more than to be a serious journalist at the iconic New York Times, but her professor has other plans. Instead, she's landed a post at the pop-up publication dedicated to covering the World's Fair--and even then, her big ideas are continually overlooked by her male counterparts. Max didn't work this hard to be the only--and an unheard one at that--woman in the room. 

When Max and Vivi's worlds collide, they forge an enduring friendship. One that shows them to be the daring, bold women they are, and one that teaches them to never stop holding on to what matters most, in the most meaningful summer of their lives.

PRAISE FOR THE SUBWAY GIRLS
"Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." --Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of Daisy Jones and The Six
"Feminist at heart ...Fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid and Camille Di Maio will adore this book." --Jennifer S. Brown, bestselling author of Modern Girls
"Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis's The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women's lives." --Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"On the thrilling backdrop of the 1939 World’s Fair, Schnall once again delivers a story both captivating and timely, as two women must struggle to make their way in a male-dominated world in this beautiful novel of friendship and ambition." - Jennifer S Brown

"Set at the wondrous 1939 World's Fair, Schnall's latest bursts like a technicolor movie right off the page." - Fiona Davis

"Susie Orman Schnall’s WE CAME HERE TO SHINE offers readers a perfect escape. It’s the absolutely delightful story of Vivi and Max, two young women who are chasing their dreams at the 1939 World’s Fair in New York City. This novel beautifully illustrates the importance of female friendships and how, at certain times in life, they can help you be strong enough to live the life you’ve always imagined. In many ways, the third fascinating character in this book is the 1939 World’s Fair itself, as Schnall’s lush descriptions of the fair’s pavilions and amusements leap off of the page. I cannot recommend it enough!" - Jane Healey

"At its heart, WE CAME HERE TO SHINE pulses with tenacity, ambition, and friendship as two enterprising women find their paths to the future through the power of sisterhood. This wonderful story glows with colorful historical details and delivers a behind-the-scenes ticket to the wonders and woes of New York’s 1939 World’s Fair." - Elise Hooper

"We Came Here to Shine is a perfectly crafted and dynamic tale of female ambition, professional rivalry, and family secrets, all set against the sensational backdrop of the 1939 New York World’s Fair. An unlikely friendship between a struggling Hollywood starlet and a budding female journalist becomes the extraordinary centerpiece of this beautifully-told story, which reveals not only the glamorous and optimistic side of the Fair, but the sordid reality of what goes on behind the scenes. With masterful attention to historical detail, Susie Orman Schnall has gifted us with a remarkable novel about the challenges women face and the courage they must summon in order to lead the lives they deserve." - Lynda Cohen Loigman

"We Came Here to Shine is an exceptional work of historical fiction, illuminating the challenges of women in a world that wants to control them. There are conflicts and challenges at every turn, leaving the reader wondering how the characters can emerge from it all. Yet the skillful storytelling of Schnall succeeds at creating an ending that is both surprising and believable. Pick this one up if you enjoy books with friendship, love, struggle, triumph, and a bit of Hollywood in New York." - Camille Di Maio


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Susie Orman Schnall's We Came Here to Shine

Paperback Editions

June 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: We Came Here to Shine
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
ISBN: 1-250-16978-X / 978-1-250-16978-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Griffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: We Came Here to Shine: A Novel
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: We Came Here to Shine: A Novel
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: We Came Here to Shine: A Novel
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: We Came Here to Shine: A Novel
Author(s): Susie Orman Schnall
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU