Jennifer S Brown's picture
1 followers

Jennifer S Brown



Jennifer S. Brown considers herself a Floridian, having moved to Miami as a three-year-old and spending the majority of her formative years in Miami Beach. But then again, shell also identify as a New Yorker after earning a BFA in filmmaking from New York University and sticking around the City to work in publishing andfor a very brief stintat a talent agency (and to be technical about it, she was born in New York City). Her passion for Seattle developed when she earned her MFA in creative writing from the University of Washington and then settled into a job as an editor at, what was then billed as, that little online bookstore, aka Amazon.com. She now lives and writes in the suburbs of Boston.

Her fiction, articles, and essays have appeared in numerous publications, and she was the winner of the 2005 Worlds Best Short-Short Story Contest (judged by Robert Olen Butler) in the Southeast Review. Her creative nonfiction piece, The Codeine of Jordan, published in the Bellevue Literary Review, was selected as a notable essay in 2012s The Best American Travel Writing and included in volume 9 of The Best Womens Travel Writing.

Her first novel, Modern Girls, set in 1935 in the Lower East Side of New York, is about a Russian-born Jewish mother and her American-born unmarried daughter. Each discovers that she is expecting, although the pregnancies are unplanned and unwanted, in this story about womens roles, standards, and choices, set against the backdrop of the impending war. Modern Girls will be published by NAL in the spring of 2016.
 
Novels
thumb
 
Jennifer S Brown recommends
thumb
The Summer List (2018)
Amy Mason Doan
"With its exquisite detail, The Summer List wouldn't let me go, and the unexpected ending gave me chills. An irresistible novel of friendship and home."
thumb
The Subway Girls (2018)
Susie Orman Schnall
"This novel is feminist at heart and it's true to the time period, which at times means things don't always go the way the characters (or we!) wish they'd go. The story twists in unexpected ways which delighted me. Schnall never takes the easy way out. Fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid and Camille Di Maio will adore this book. A great story of Miss Subways, New York, and women making their ways in a cutthroat business."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors