book cover of Salt Lane
Added by 22 of our members

Salt Lane

(2018)
(The first book in the DS Alexandra Cupidi series)
A novel by

 
 
An "excellent," darkly-told crime novel in the tradition of Tana French and Ian Rankin (Wall Street Journal).

Sergeant Alexandra Cupidi is a recent transfer from the London metro police to the rugged Kentish countryside. She's done little to ingratiate herself with her new colleagues, who find her too brash, urban, and -- to make matters worse -- she investigated her first partner, a veteran detective, and had him arrested on murder charges.

Now assigned the brash young Constable Jill Ferriter to look after, she's facing another bizarre case: a woman found floating in local marsh land, dead of no apparent cause. The case gets even stranger when the detectives contact the victim's next of kin, her son, a high-powered graphic designer living in London. Adopted at the age of two, he'd never known his mother, he tells the detectives, until a homeless womanknocked on his door, claiming to be his mother, just the night before: at the same time her body was being dredged from the water.

Juggling the case, her aging mother, her teenage daughter, and the loneliness of country life, Detective Cupidi must discover who the woman really was, who killed her, and how she managed to reconnect with her long lost son, apparently from beyond the grave.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"William Shaw is one of the great rising talents of UK crime fiction. This is his best book to date, instantly engaging, beautifully written with really well observed and rounded characters." - Peter James

"Salt Lane is taut, terrifying and timely; the emotional tension never slackens." - Val McDermid

"Salt Lane was my introduction to William Shaw, and when I finished it I instantly went to his backlist. He is a meticulous, thoughtful and insightful writer. I can't wait for Sgt. Cupidi's next case." - Sara Paretsky


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Cry Baby
(Tom Thorne, book 17)
Mark Billingham
thumb
The Darkest Evening
(Vera Stanhope, book 9)
Ann Cleeves
thumb
Too Close to Breathe
(Dublin Crime Bureau, book 1)
Olivia Kiernan
thumb
The Lantern Men
(Ruth Galloway Mystery, book 12)
Elly Griffiths

Used availability for William Shaw's Salt Lane

Hardback Editions

June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Salt Lane
Author(s): William Shaw
ISBN: 0-316-56350-1 / 978-0-316-56350-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Salt Lane: the superb first book in the DS Alexandra Cupidi Investigations
Author(s): William Shaw
ISBN: 1-78648-657-1 / 978-1-78648-657-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: riverrun
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Salt Lane: the superb first book in the DS Alexandra Cupidi Investigations
Author(s): William Shaw
ISBN: 1-78648-658-X / 978-1-78648-658-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: riverrun
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Salt Lane: DS Alexandra Cupidi: Book 1
Author(s): William Shaw
ISBN: 1-78648-656-3 / 978-1-78648-656-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: riverrun
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

May 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Salt Lane: DS Alexandra Cupidi, Book 1
Author(s): William Shaw
Publisher: riverrun
Availability: Amazon   


May 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Salt Lane: DS Alexandra Cupidi, Book 1
Author(s): William Shaw
Publisher: riverrun
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Salt Lane: DS Alexandra Cupidi, Book 1
Author(s): William Shaw
Publisher: riverrun
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Salt Lane
Author(s): William Shaw
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Salt Lane: the superb first book in the DS Alexandra Cupidi Investigations
Author(s): William Shaw
Publisher: riverrun
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU