book cover of The Scarlet Nightingale
Added by 29 of our members

The Scarlet Nightingale

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
'It's just brilliant - full of poetry' - Jilly Cooper

Set in wartime London and occupied France, this is a thrilling story of love, danger and sacrifice from bestselling novelist Alan Titchmarsh.

It is the late 1930s when seventeen-year-old Rosamund Hanbury leaves behind the endless summers of her coastal Devonshire home for the fast pace of high society London.

Under the expert guidance of her formidable aunt, the country mouse learns how to act like a lady, hosting dinner parties and rubbing shoulders with Britain's most influential. And when the enigmatic Harry Napier sweeps her off her feet at London's famous Café de Paris she could almost forget that Britain has declared war.

But the Phoney War ends. Harry is posted, London reels from the first bombings of the Blitz and Rosamund suffers a devastating personal loss that leaves her all the more determined to do her bit for the war effort.
Joining the Special Forces she is sent to work alongside the Resistance on a top secret mission in France.
It is here that her courage and loyalty are truly put to the test. And where she learns that no one is what they seem: at home or abroad . . .

READERS ARE LOVING THE SCARLET NIGHTINGALE:

'Alan Titchmarsh at his best' - 5 STARS

'[Alan Titchmarsh] is a genius and has my full admiration. Buy the book!' - 5 STARS

'What a fabulous read, no hesitation in recommending this wonderful book' - 5 STARS

'Made me cry, so beautifully written' - 5 STARS

'I loved this book - I can highly recommend' - 5 STARS



Genre: Historical

Used availability for Alan Titchmarsh's The Scarlet Nightingale

Hardback Editions

September 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Scarlet Nightingale: A thrilling wartime love story, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees
Author(s): Alan Titchmarsh
ISBN: 1-4736-5832-2 / 978-1-4736-5832-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Scarlet Nightingale: A thrilling wartime love story, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees
Author(s): Alan Titchmarsh
ISBN: 1-4736-5834-9 / 978-1-4736-5834-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Scarlet Nightingale
Author(s): Alan Titchmarsh
ISBN: 1-4736-5831-4 / 978-1-4736-5831-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Scarlet Nightingale: A thrilling wartime love story, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees
Author(s): Alan Titchmarsh
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   


September 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Scarlet Nightingale: A thrilling wartime love story, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees
Author(s): Alan Titchmarsh
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


September 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Scarlet Nightingale: A thrilling wartime love story, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees
Author(s): Alan Titchmarsh
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon CA   


September 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Scarlet Nightingale: A thrilling wartime love story, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees
Author(s): Alan Titchmarsh
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Scarlet Nightingale: A thrilling wartime love story, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees
Author(s): Alan Titchmarsh
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Scarlet Nightingale: A thrilling wartime love story, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees
Author(s): Alan Titchmarsh
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon CA