book cover of A Good Enough Mother

A Good Enough Mother

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
The most dangerous lies are the ones we tell ourselves.

'Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama.' (Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of The Girl on the Train)

Dr Ruth Hartland rises to difficult tasks. She is the director of a highly respected trauma therapy unit. She is confident, capable and excellent at her job. Today she is preoccupied by her son Tom's disappearance.

So when a new patient arrives at the unit - a young man who looks shockingly like Tom - she is floored.

As a therapist, Ruth knows exactly what she should do in the best interests of her client, but as a mother she makes a very different choice - a decision that will have profound consequences.

A gripping and deeply intelligent psychological thriller for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Lullaby

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A gripping novel of what happens when unexpected loss breaks open the boundaries of a carefully constructed life, blurring perspectives and upending the best of intentions. This powerful story of love, loss--and ultimately, healing--will resonate with everyone who has ever loved a child." - Kim Edwards

"A Good Enough Mother is gorgeously written: It's both a riveting account of what goes on behind the scenes at your therapist's office and a dark meditation on motherhood, marriage and grief. I couldn't put it down." - Lisa Gabriele

"A Good Enough Mother packs an emotional punch and is a gripping, original read. It is a novel full of loss and longing and the complexities of human relationships." - Kate Hamer

"A beautiful, compelling book about the hopes and terrors of motherhood. You'll stay up reading way too late, desperate to find out what happens next . . . and even when you manage to put the book down, Ruth's story will haunt you." - Gin Phillips

"The suspense in A Good Enough Mother is raw and enthralling, with a strong emotional ache at its center." - Hilma Wolitzer


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Bev Thomas's A Good Enough Mother

Hardback Editions

July 2019 : USA Library Binding

Title: A Good Enough Mother (Thorndike Press Large Print Core Series)
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 1-4328-6655-9 / 978-1-4328-6655-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 0-571-34837-8 / 978-0-571-34837-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother: A Novel
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 0-525-56125-0 / 978-0-525-56125-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2020 : UK Paperback

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 0-571-34839-4 / 978-0-571-34839-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 0-571-34838-6 / 978-0-571-34838-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 0-7352-7671-4 / 978-0-7352-7671-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother: A Novel
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 1-5288-5620-1 / 978-1-5288-5620-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Random House Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother: A Novel
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books
Availability: Amazon   


March 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU