book cover of A Good Enough Mother
Added by 1 of our members

A Good Enough Mother

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama."
--Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train

"Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient." --Booklist

A riveting page-turner that lets us inside the secret world of therapist and patient, where boundaries get crossed, and events spiral out of control. . .


Ruth Hartland is a psychotherapist with years of experience. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in," disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half-life, waiting for him to return.

Enter a new patient, Dan--unstable and traumatized--who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon, her own complicated feelings, about how she has failed her own boy, cloud her professional judgement. And before long, the unthinkable becomes a shattering reality....

An utterly compelling drama with a timebomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering, and how to let go of the ones we love when we must.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A gripping novel of what happens when unexpected loss breaks open the boundaries of a carefully constructed life, blurring perspectives and upending the best of intentions. This powerful story of love, loss--and ultimately, healing--will resonate with everyone who has ever loved a child." - Kim Edwards

"A Good Enough Mother is gorgeously written: It's both a riveting account of what goes on behind the scenes at your therapist's office and a dark meditation on motherhood, marriage and grief. I couldn't put it down." - Lisa Gabriele

"A Good Enough Mother packs an emotional punch and is a gripping, original read. It is a novel full of loss and longing and the complexities of human relationships." - Kate Hamer

"A beautiful, compelling book about the hopes and terrors of motherhood. You'll stay up reading way too late, desperate to find out what happens next . . . and even when you manage to put the book down, Ruth's story will haunt you." - Gin Phillips

"The suspense in A Good Enough Mother is raw and enthralling, with a strong emotional ache at its center." - Hilma Wolitzer


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Bev Thomas's A Good Enough Mother

Hardback Editions

July 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother (Thorndike Press Large Print Core Series)
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 1-4328-6655-9 / 978-1-4328-6655-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 0-571-34837-8 / 978-0-571-34837-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother: A Novel
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 0-525-56125-0 / 978-0-525-56125-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 0-571-34839-4 / 978-0-571-34839-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 0-571-34838-6 / 978-0-571-34838-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 0-7352-7671-4 / 978-0-7352-7671-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother: A Novel
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother: A Novel
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
ISBN: 1-5288-5620-1 / 978-1-5288-5620-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Random House Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother: A Novel
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books
Availability: Amazon   


March 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Good Enough Mother
Author(s): Bev Thomas
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU