Lisa Gabriele's picture
4 followers

Lisa Gabriele


USA flag

Her writing has appeared in the New York Times Magazine, the Washington Post, Vice magazine, Salon, Glamour, and Babble, among other publications. She’s a regular contributor to Nerve.

She's from Belle River, Ontario, and has lived in Dawson City, Buenos Aires, New York City, and Washington, D.C. She wrote CBC radio's The Current for a few years, and now works as a TV producer/director on shows such as Dragons' Den, and The Week the Women Went . She lives in Toronto.

Genres: Mystery
 
Lisa Gabriele recommends
thumb
The Homecoming (2019)
Andrew Pyper
"Part macabre family drama, part chilling dystopian nightmare, The Homecoming is the kind of story that could only spring from the darkest imagination. Pyper is a master of the artful thriller, and Belfountain, the mysterious mansion at the centre of this terrifying novel, might be one of the most eerily realized hellscapes ever. The last page is a jaw-dropper."
thumb
The Last Romantics (2019)
Tara Conklin
"There’s so much love and loss in this book that I read it with a box of tissues, laughing with astonishment through the tears. The kind of book you lose yourself in."
thumb
A Good Enough Mother (2019)
Bev Thomas
"A Good Enough Mother is gorgeously written: It's both a riveting account of what goes on behind the scenes at your therapist's office and a dark meditation on motherhood, marriage and grief. I couldn't put it down."
thumb
Star-Crossed (2019)
Minnie Darke
"A five-star delight. A sharp, funny and irresistible rom com."
thumb
When We Were Vikings (2020)
Andrew David MacDonald
"A sweet, funny, dark, roller coaster ride of a book, about two unforgettable siblings trying to help each other grow up. Zelda is an entirely original character, a young woman with a cognitive disability, trying hard to navigate life on her own terms. But it’s her loving thug of a brother, Gert, that stole my heart. A wonderful book that’s less a novel than a movement, proving we can all be heroes of our own stories."
thumb
Dark August (2020)
Katie Tallo
"Dark August is a tightly-paced cauldron of a thriller about small town corruption, murder and mayhem, in the vein of Sharp Objects and All The Missing Girls. A macabre and confidently twisty debut."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors