book cover of Beloved Poison
Added by 8 of our members

Beloved Poison

(2016)
(The first book in the Jem Flockhart series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
McIlvanney Prize Best Novel (nominee)
'Vivid, pungent and perilous' CHRIS BROOKMYRE

'Evocative...brilliant plotting' REBECCA GRIFFITHS

A dark and richly atmospheric thriller, perfect for fans of Laura Purcell's The Silent Companions, Sarah Perry's Melmoth and Elly Griffiths' The Stranger Diaries.

London, 1846.

Ramshackle and crumbling, St Saviour's Infirmary awaits demolition. Within its stinking wards and cramped corridors the doctors bicker and fight. Ambition, jealousy and hatred seethe beneath the veneer of professional courtesy.

Always an outsider, and with a secret of her own to hide, apothecary Jem Flockhart observes everything, but says nothing.

And then six tiny coffins are uncovered, inside each a handful of dried flowers and a bundle of mouldering rags. When Jem comes across these strange relics hidden inside the infirmary's old chapel, her quest to understand their meaning prises open a long-forgotten past - with fatal consequences . . .

Praise for E.S. Thomson:

'It's rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but Beloved Poison is killing it. The blood, the bones...' LAURA PURCELL

'Complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable' DAILY EXPRESS

'Marvellous, vivid . . . breathtakingly dark' JANET ELLIS

'Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years' KIRSTY LOGAN

'A marvel . . . thoroughly engrossing' MARY PAULSON ELLIS

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"Beloved Poison is a marvellous, vivid book with a thoughtful, engaging protagonist at its centre - and a fascinating story to tell. It's immaculately researched and breathtakingly dark. Elaine Thomson's descriptive powers are so great that that I was surprised to see twenty-first century London rather than grimy, smelly St Saviour's around me when I - eventually - looked up from its pages." - Janet Ellis

"ES Thompson's Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years. Jem is just my kind of heroine: scarred, smart, complex, and unapologetically queer." - Kirsty Logan


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Anatomist's Apprentice
(Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery, book 1)
Tessa Harris
thumb
Dark Entry
(Kit Marlowe, book 1)
M J Trow
thumb
The Cavalier of the Apocalypse
(Aristide Ravel Mysteries, book 3)
Susanne Alleyn
thumb
Martyr
(John Shakespeare, book 1)
Rory Clements

Used availability for E S Thomson's Beloved Poison

Hardback Editions

February 2017 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Beloved Poison
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-68324-264-5 / 978-1-68324-264-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Platinum Spotlight Series
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Beloved Poison: A Novel (Jem Flockhart Mysteries)
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-68177-214-0 / 978-1-68177-214-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Beloved Poison: A Jem Flockhart Mystery
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-4721-2227-5 / 978-1-4721-2227-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Beloved Poison: A Novel (Jem Flockhart Mysteries)
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-68177-538-7 / 978-1-68177-538-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Beloved Poison: A page-turning thriller full of dark secrets (Jem Flockhart)
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-4721-2229-1 / 978-1-4721-2229-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Beloved Poison: A page-turning thriller full of dark secrets (Jem Flockhart)
Author(s): E S Thomson
ISBN: 1-4721-2226-7 / 978-1-4721-2226-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

September 2016 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Beloved Poison: A Novel (Jem Flockhart Mysteries Book 1)
Author(s): E S Thomson
Publisher: Pegasus Crime
Availability: Amazon   


March 2016 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Beloved Poison: A page-turning thriller full of dark secrets
Author(s): E S Thomson
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Beloved Poison: A page-turning thriller full of dark secrets (Jem Flockhart Book 1)
Author(s): E S Thomson
Publisher: Constable
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU