book cover of Beloved Poison
Added by 27 members
 

Beloved Poison

(2016)
(The first book in the Jem Flockhart series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
McIlvanney Prize Best Novel (nominee)
'Vivid, pungent and perilous' CHRIS BROOKMYRE

'Evocative...brilliant plotting'
REBECCA GRIFFITHS

A dark and richly atmospheric thriller, perfect for fans of Laura Purcell's The Silent Companions, Sarah Perry's Melmoth and Elly Griffiths' The Stranger Diaries.

London, 1846.

Ramshackle and crumbling, St Saviour's Infirmary awaits demolition. Within its stinking wards and cramped corridors the doctors bicker and fight. Ambition, jealousy and hatred seethe beneath the veneer of professional courtesy.

Always an outsider, and with a secret of her own to hide, apothecary Jem Flockhart observes everything, but says nothing.

And then six tiny coffins are uncovered, inside each a handful of dried flowers and a bundle of mouldering rags. When Jem comes across these strange relics hidden inside the infirmary's old chapel, her quest to understand their meaning prises open a long-forgotten past - with fatal consequences . . .

Praise for E.S. Thomson:

'It's rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but
Beloved Poison is killing it. The blood, the bones...' LAURA PURCELL

'Complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable'
DAILY EXPRESS

'Marvellous, vivid . . . breathtakingly dark'
JANET ELLIS

'Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years'
KIRSTY LOGAN

'A marvel . . . thoroughly engrossing'
MARY PAULSON ELLIS



Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"Beloved Poison is a marvellous, vivid book with a thoughtful, engaging protagonist at its centre - and a fascinating story to tell. It's immaculately researched and breathtakingly dark. Elaine Thomson's descriptive powers are so great that that I was surprised to see twenty-first century London rather than grimy, smelly St Saviour's around me when I - eventually - looked up from its pages." - Janet Ellis

"ES Thompson's Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years. Jem is just my kind of heroine: scarred, smart, complex, and unapologetically queer." - Kirsty Logan


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for E S Thomson's Beloved Poison


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors