book cover of Searching for My Daughter
Added by 22 of our members
 

Searching for My Daughter

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
The queue is long, but that barely matters. She is used to waiting. For the midnight knock at the door, for her number to be called, for the next meal of watery soup, the sound of a gunshot... Sustaining her through every moment of waiting, there has remained the tiniest flicker of hope: her daughter Rosa’s face, eyes bright and expectant, arms outstretched.

Germany 1945: Miriam has travelled for over two weeks to reach safety. Exhausted and hungry, she knows she is still one of the fortunate ones. One of the few to survive the camps. Having lost her darling husband and son, the only thing that has kept her walking is the hope of finding her daughter, Rosa.

As she arrives at the checkpoint, she is told it is closed for the day. But in her mind Miriam can hear her daughter’s voice: Be strong, stand up to them. Don’t let anyone bully you, Mum. Standing tall, she comes face to face with the guard and refuses to leave until they help her.

When Miriam is introduced to an English officer named Jack, she describes how, fearing the Nazis, she and her husband sent Rosa to England to marry. It was not a marriage of love but of survival. Now, Miriam needs the officer’s help: if she is to be reunited with her beloved daughter, he will need to help her travel to England.

But as Miriam begins to describe Rosa, there is a look of recognition in Jack’s eyes. As he listens to her story, he is transported back to an unforgettable English summer, to secret picnics in the long grass, and to a love that shaped the man he became. Will Jack now risk everything to help Miriam make the biggest journey of all, back to her daughter and her freedom?

An utterly gripping and emotional novel about bravery, enduring love and keeping hope alive in the darkest of times. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Beneath a Scarlet Sky and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Readers love Liz Trenow:

Had me gripped from the first paragraph… A fabulous read.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘I wish I could give this a 10 star rating… An exceptional story… You have to read this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘I was totally hooked on this… I was touched by how honest and enlightening it was. An absolutely brilliant read.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘A book which takes me in, rips parts of my heart and soul and then keeps me hooked and has a hold on me forever.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘An incredibly touching story where hope was never lost. I was riveted… The conclusion brought tears of joy to me.’ Robin Loves Reading ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Loved it!… This book is beautifully written, and the story is absolutely captivating. It makes you not want to put it down and stop reading, even long after the book is over.’ Goodreads Reviewer

Absolutely loved this book and couldn’t put it downHighly recommend this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Liz Trenow's Searching for My Daughter

Paperback Editions

May 2022 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Searching for My Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking and totally unputdownable WW2 historical fiction
Author(s): Liz Trenow
ISBN: 1-80314-363-0 / 978-1-80314-363-7
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

May 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Searching for My Daughter
Author(s): Liz Trenow
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


May 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Searching for My Daughter
Author(s): Liz Trenow
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2022 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Searching for My Daughter
Author(s): Liz Trenow
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

May 2022 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Searching for My Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking and totally unputdownable WW2 historical fiction
Author(s): Liz Trenow
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU