book cover of Hand Me Down
Added by 1 of our members

Hand Me Down

(2012)
A novel by

 
 
A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Elizabeth is a tough and tender heroine for the ages. A few pages in her voice is all it takes to make us determined to see her through." - Pam Houston


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Melanie Thorne's Hand Me Down

Hardback Editions

April 2012 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Hand Me Down
Author(s): Melanie Thorne
ISBN: 0-525-95268-3 / 978-0-525-95268-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dutton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2013 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Hand Me Down: A Novel
Author(s): Melanie Thorne
ISBN: 0-452-29885-7 / 978-0-452-29885-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Plume
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2012 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Hand Me Down
Author(s): Melanie Thorne
ISBN: 1-66441-064-3 / 978-1-66441-064-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Recorded Books, Inc. and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


April 2012 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Hand Me Down
Author(s): Melanie Thorne
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2012 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Hand Me Down: A Novel
Author(s): Melanie Thorne
Publisher: Plume
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA