Amy Tan's picture

Amy Tan

USA flag (b.1952)

Amy Tan is the author of four critically acclaimed, internationally bestselling novels. Her first novel, The Joy Luck Club, was nominated for the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award and was a recipient of the Commonwealth Gold Award. The Joy Luck Club was also adapted into a feature film in 1994. Her subsequent novels are The Kitchen God's Wife, The Hundred Secret Senses, and The Bonesetter's Daughter. She lives in San Francisco and New York.

Genres: Literary Fiction
New and upcoming books
Picture Books
   The Moon Lady (1992)
   The Chinese Siamese Cat (1994)
Novellas and Short Stories
   Rules for Virgins (2013)
Non fiction
   Mid-Life Confidential (1994) (with others)
   Mother (1996) (with Maya Angelou and Mary Higgins Clark)
   The Opposite of Fate (2003)
   Hard Listening (2014) (with others)
   Where the Past Begins (2017)
   The Backyard Bird Chronicles (2024)
Series contributed to
Amy Tan recommends
A Council of Dolls (2023)
Mona Susan Power
"The Grass Dancer is astonishing, and not simply because it's Susan Power's first book. It is pure and potent magic, with storytelling that encircles you like wisps of tribal ghosts."
In the Time of Our History (2023)
Susanne Pari
"This jewel of a novel is a universal tale that naturally leads to self-reflection and conversations about the changing relationship between mothers and daughters, and the choices we make, good and bad, early in life and late, which determine our identity."
What Jonah Knew (2022)
Barbara Graham
"A spellbinding literary thriller packed with psychological suspense and profound questions about motherhood, trauma and how death illuminates life."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Amy Tan
The Scribner Anthology of Contemporary Short Fiction (1999)
edited by
Michael Martone and Lex Williford

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors