book cover of State of Treason
Added by 7 of our members

State of Treason

(The first book in the William Constable Spy series)
A novel by

William Constable Spy Thriller series - Book 1

"A gripping and evocative page-turner that vibrantly brings Elizabeth's London to life." Steven Veerapen, author of A Dangerous Trade

London 1578 - a cauldron of conspiracy, intrigue and torture.

The might of Spain and the growing influence of the Catholic League in France all threaten the stability of Queen Elizabeth and her state.

William Constable, a physician and astrologer, is summoned to the presence of the Queen’s spymaster, Sir Francis Walsingham. He is charged to assist a renowned Puritan, John Foxe, in uncovering the secrets of a mysterious cabinet containing an astrological chart and coded message. Together, these claim Elizabeth has a hidden, illegitimate child (an “unknowing maid”) who will be declared to the masses and serve as the focus for an invasion.

Constable must uncover the identity of the plotters, unaware that he is also under suspicion.

A connection to his estranged mentor, Doctor Dee, comes under scrutiny.

Pressured into taking up a position as a court physician, Constable becomes a reluctant spy.

Do the stars and cipher speak true, or is there some other malign intent in the complex web of scheming?

Constable becomes an unwitting pawn, in a complex game of thrones and power.

State of Treason is the first in a series of Elizabethan thrillers featuring William Constable.

Recommended for fans of CJ Sansom, S J Parris and Rory Clements.

Paul Walker is the author of the William Constable series of Elizabethan spy thrillers. He lives in London.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

Black Cross
(World War II, book 2)
Greg Iles
Master of War
(Master of War, book 1)
David Gilman
A Dangerous Trade
(Elizabethan Spy Thriller, book 1)
Steven Veerapen

Used availability for Paul Walker's State of Treason

Paperback Editions

June 2019 : Paperback

Title: State of Treason
Author(s): Paul Walker
ISBN: 1-07-115967-4 / 978-1-07-115967-5
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

May 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: State of Treason (William Constable Spy Thriller series Book 1)
Author(s): Paul Walker
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU