book cover of The Woman Who Wanted More
Added by 2 of our members

The Woman Who Wanted More

(2019)
(Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies)
A novel by

 
 
"A can't-miss title for fans of chick lit and modern women's fiction."—Library Journal, STARRED review

An unlikely friendship between two stubborn, lonely souls anchors this big-hearted book and dares us all to ask for more.

When her life falls apart on the eve of her 40th birthday, Kate Parker finds herself volunteering at the Lauderdale House for Exceptional Ladies. There she meets 97-year-old Cecily Finn. Cecily's tongue is as sharp as her mind, but she's fed up with pretty much everything.

Having no patience for Kate's choices in life or love, Cecily prescribes her a self-help book...of sorts. Thought for Food: an unintentionally funny 1950s cookbook high on enthusiasm, featuring menus for anything life can throw at the "easily dismayed," such as:
  • Breakfast with a Hangover

    Tea for a Crotchety Aunt

    Dinner for a Charming Stranger
  • As she and Cecily break out of their ruts, Kate will learn far more than recipes.

    A feel-good summer read with a wicked sense of humor, Vicky Zimmerman's book will teach you that food is for feasting, friends are for savoring, and the way to a man's heart is...irrelevant.

    Fans of Jennifer Weiner, Elin Hildenbrand, and Sophie Kinsella will delight in this recipe for confidence, romance, and fun.

    Genre: General Fiction

    Praise for this book

    "Wise, warm, witty and mouth-watering - this wonderful book has it all . . . Hungry for a love story with added bite? With deliciously real characters, a sprinkling of humour, a pinch of pathos and huge helping of wisdom, this book has all the ingredients to become this summer's must-read." - Isabelle Broom

    "Beautifully written, full of insight and food. This is one of those I carried round the house wanting to read it every spare second." - Katie Fforde

    "A beautiful, thoughtful read about love, friendship and food with shades of Nora Ephron's Heartburn and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. Read it and then give a copy to all of your friends." - Tasmina Perry


    Similar books by other authors


    Used availability for Vicky Zimmerman's The Woman Who Wanted More

    Hardback Editions

    August 2020 : USA Library Binding

    Title: Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies
    Author(s): Vicky Zimmerman
    ISBN: 1-4328-8135-3 / 978-1-4328-8135-1 (USA edition)
    Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    Paperback Editions

    June 2020 : Paperback
    thumb

    Title: Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies: A Novel
    Author(s): Vicky Zimmerman
    ISBN: 1-72821-023-2 / 978-1-72821-023-0
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    May 2019 : UK Paperback
    thumb

    Title: The Woman Who Wanted More: 'Beautifully written, full of insight and food' Katie Fforde
    Author(s): Vicky Zimmerman
    ISBN: 1-78576-532-9 / 978-1-78576-532-2 (UK edition)
    Publisher: Zaffre
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


    Audio Editions

    July 2020 : USA Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies: A Novel
    Author(s): Vicky Zimmerman
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
    Availability: Amazon   


    June 2020 : USA Audio CD
    thumb

    Title: Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies: A Novel
    Author(s): Vicky Zimmerman
    ISBN: 1-66201-543-7 / 978-1-66201-543-4 (USA edition)
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media
    Availability: Amazon   


    June 2020 : USA Audio CD
    thumb

    Title: Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies: A Novel
    Author(s): Vicky Zimmerman
    ISBN: 1-66201-547-X / 978-1-66201-547-2 (USA edition)
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


    May 2019 : USA Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: The Woman Who Wanted More
    Author(s): Vicky Zimmerman
    Publisher: Zaffre
    Availability: Amazon   


    May 2019 : Australia Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: The Woman Who Wanted More
    Author(s): Vicky Zimmerman
    Publisher: Zaffre
    Availability: Amazon AU   


    May 2019 : UK Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: The Woman Who Wanted More
    Author(s): Vicky Zimmerman
    Publisher: Zaffre
    Availability: Amazon UK   


    Kindle Editions

    June 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
    thumb

    Title: Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies: A Novel
    Author(s): Vicky Zimmerman
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


    May 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
    thumb

    Title: The Woman Who Wanted More: 'Beautifully written, full of insight and food' Katie Fforde
    Author(s): Vicky Zimmerman
    Publisher: Zaffre
    Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU