Cleve F Adams

USA flag (1884 - 1949)

aka John Spain

The missing link between Dashiell Hammett and James Ellroy, Cleve F. Adams wrote rambunctious, violent, corrosively cynical private eye fiction from the mid-1930s until his untimely death from pneumonia in 1949 at the age of 54. He also wrote as Franklin Charles and John Spain.
Rex McBride Mystery
   And Sudden Death (1940)
   Sabotage (1940)
     aka Death Before Breakfast
   Decoy (1941)
     aka Decoy Doll
   Up Jumped the Devil (1943)
     aka Murder All Over
   The Crooking Finger (1944)
   Death At The Dam (1946)
   Shady Lady (1955)
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
thumbno image availablethumb
Bill Rye Mystery (as by John Spain)
   1. Dig Me a Grave (1942)
   2. Death Is Like That (1943)
   The Black Door (1941)
   What Price Murder (1942)
   The Evil Star (1944) (as by John Spain)
   Contraband (1950)
     aka Borderline Cases
Omnibus editions show

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors