E W Hornung's picture

E W Hornung

(Ernest William Hornung)
UK flag (1866 - 1921)

Ernest William Hornung was a British author. The third son of John Peter Hornung, a Hungarian, E.W. Hornung was born in Middlesbrough. He spent most of his life in England and France, but in 1884 left for Australia and stayed for two years where he working as a tutor at Mossgiel station. Although his Australian experience had been so short, it coloured most of his literary work from A Bride from the Bush published in 1899, to Old Offenders and a few Old Scores, which appeared after his death. After he returned from Australia in 1886, he married Constance Doyle, the sister of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, in 1893. Hornung His most famous creation, ""gentleman thief"" A. J. Raffles, first appeared in Strand Magazine and then in other British magazines during the 1890s. The stories were later published in The Amateur Cracksman (1899), a collection. Other titles in the series include The Black Mask (1901), A Thief in the Night (1905), and the full-length novel Mr. Justice Raffles (1909).

Genres: Mystery
A J Raffles
   1. The Amateur Cracksman (1899)
     aka Raffles
   2. The Black Mask (1901)
     aka Further Adventures of the Amateur Cracksman
   3. A Thief in the Night (1905)
   4. Mr. Justice Raffles (1909)
   The Complete Short Stories of Raffles (1984)
   The Collected Raffles (1993)
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by E W Hornung
no image availablethumbthumbno image available
Short stories
A Costume Piece
The Fate of Faustina
Gentlemen and Players
The Gift of the Emperor [short story]
The Ides of March [short story]
A Jubilee Present
The Knees of the Gods
The Last Laugh
Le Premier Pas
Nine Points of the Law [short story]
No Sinecure
An Old Flame
The Return Match [short story]
To Catch a Thief [short story]
Wilful Murder
The Wrong House (1899)

Books about E W Hornung
no image availablethumb