book cover of The Grave\'s a Fine and Private Place
Added by 28 of our members

The Grave's a Fine and Private Place

(2018)
(The ninth book in the Flavia de Luce Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Sunny skies, sleep water...and a sinister corpse

Flavia is enjoying the summer, spending her days punting along the river with her reluctant family. Languishing in boredom, she drags a slack hand in the water, and catches her fingers in the open mouth of a drowned corpse.

Brought to shore, the dead man is found to be dressed in blue silk with ribbons at the knee, and wearing a single red ballet slipper.

Flavia needs to put her super-sleuthing skills to the test to investigate the murder of three gossips in the local church, and to keep her sisters out of danger. But what could possibly connect the son of an executed killer, a far too canny police constable, a travelling circus, and the publican's mysteriously talented wife?

Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries:

'The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite' Mail on Sunday

'A cross between Dodie Smith's I Capture The Castle and the Addams family...delightfully entertaining' Guardian

Fans of M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries:

1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag
3. A Red Herring Without Mustard
4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows
5. Speaking From Among the Bones
6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches
7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust
8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd
9. The Grave's a Fine and Private Place

If you're looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries.

* Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
To Die but Once
(Maisie Dobbs, book 14)
Jacqueline Winspear
thumb
Hall of Mirrors
(Bryant & May, book 16)
Christopher Fowler
thumb
The Dark Angel
(Ruth Galloway Mystery, book 10)
Elly Griffiths

Used availability for Alan Bradley's The Grave's a Fine and Private Place

Hardback Editions

February 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Mystery Book 9
Author(s): Alan Bradley
ISBN: 1-4091-7288-0 / 978-1-4091-7288-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place (A Flavia de Luce Mystery)
Author(s): Alan Bradley
ISBN: 1-4328-4702-3 / 978-1-4328-4702-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Novel
Author(s): Alan Bradley
ISBN: 0-345-53999-0 / 978-0-345-53999-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Novel
Author(s): Alan Bradley
ISBN: 0-385-67844-4 / 978-0-385-67844-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Novel
Author(s): Alan Bradley
ISBN: 0-385-67846-0 / 978-0-385-67846-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Anchor Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Mystery Book 9
Author(s): Alan Bradley
ISBN: 1-4091-7289-9 / 978-1-4091-7289-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Novel
Author(s): Alan Bradley
ISBN: 0-345-54000-X / 978-0-345-54000-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Graves a Fine & Exp
Author(s): Alan Bradley
ISBN: 1-984817-32-9 / 978-1-984817-32-7
Publisher: Penguin Random House USA Ex Mm
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: Flavia de Luce, Book 9
Author(s): Alan Bradley
ISBN: 1-5100-9928-X / 978-1-5100-9928-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: Flavia de Luce, Book 9
Author(s): Alan Bradley
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   


February 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: Flavia de Luce, Book 9
Author(s): Alan Bradley
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: Flavia de Luce, Book 9
Author(s): Alan Bradley
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: Flavia de Luce, Book 9
Author(s): Alan Bradley
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Novel
Author(s): Alan Bradley
ISBN: 0-449-80769-X / 978-0-449-80769-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Novel
Author(s): Alan Bradley
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Novel
Author(s): Alan Bradley
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Mystery Book 9
Author(s): Alan Bradley
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Novel
Author(s): Alan Bradley
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Grave's a Fine and Private Place: A Flavia de Luce Novel
Author(s): Alan Bradley
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon CA