book cover of The Immortalists
Added by 8 of our members

The Immortalists

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
A Best Book of the Year: Washington Post, NPR, Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, Marie Claire, New York Public Library, LibraryReads, The Skimm, LitHub, Lit Reactor

Instant New York Times Best Seller

"A captivating family saga." (The New York Times Book Review)

"This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt." (People Magazine, Book of the Week)

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children - four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness - sneak out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Benjamin is at turns funny, tragic, informative, and mystical. And, like a good magic act, you'll be wondering what on earth she'll pull out of the hat next. The Immortalists demands to be discussed, dissected, and pondered long after reading." - Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

"For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. It's amazing how good this book is." - Karen Joy Fowler

"The four siblings were so real to me that when I turned the last page I immediately missed their company. I was fascinated by the idea of knowing the date of one's death and seeing how each character in The Immortalists handled that knowledge, but maybe even more than that, I loved how Benjamin conveyed the intimate details of these people, which made them and their stories come alive." - Claire Fuller

"A beautiful, compassionate, and even joyful novel. Chloe Benjamin has written an inspiring book that makes you think hard about what you want to do with the time you're given. This is not really a book about dying - it's a book about how to live." - Nathan Hill

"A great new talent." - Lorrie Moore

"The very best kind of literary thriller." - Richard Russo


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Chloe Benjamin's The Immortalists

Hardback Editions

March 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Immortalists (Thorndike Press Large Print Basic)
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
ISBN: 1-4328-4891-7 / 978-1-4328-4891-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Immortalists: If you knew the date of your death, how would you live?
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
ISBN: 1-4722-4498-2 / 978-1-4722-4498-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Immortalists
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
ISBN: 0-7352-1318-6 / 978-0-7352-1318-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Immortalists
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
ISBN: 0-7352-1509-X / 978-0-7352-1509-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Immortalists
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
ISBN: 1-4328-5241-8 / 978-1-4328-5241-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Large Print Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Immortalists: If you knew the date of your death, how would you live?
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
ISBN: 1-4722-4500-8 / 978-1-4722-4500-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Immortalists Exp
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
ISBN: 0-525-53882-8 / 978-0-525-53882-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Penguin Random House USA
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Immortalists the Mrexp
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
ISBN: 0-7352-1840-4 / 978-0-7352-1840-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Penguin Random House USA
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Immortalists
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
ISBN: 1-4722-4499-0 / 978-1-4722-4499-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Immortalists
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
ISBN: 1-984833-15-4 / 978-1-984833-15-0
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Immortalists
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Immortalists
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Immortalists
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Immortalists
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Immortalists
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Immortalists
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Immortalists: If you knew the date of your death, how would you live?
Author(s): Chloe Benjamin
Publisher: Tinder Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU