book cover of The Unlocking Season
Added by 13 of our members

The Unlocking Season

(2020)
(Book 19 in the Joanne Kilbourn series)
A novel by

 
 
Arthur Ellis Award-winning author

Grand Master Award of Crime Writers of Canada (2018)

The “queen of Canadian crime fiction” (Winnipeg Free Press) returns with a new installment in the Joanne Kilbourn series that is perfect for readers of Louise Penny, Ruth Rendell, and Peter Robinson.

On a Saturday bright with harbingers of spring, Joanne Kilbourn-Shreve, her husband, Zack, and their family prepare to celebrate the season. Joanne’s life is full, and at 60, she has been given the chance to understand a part of her history that for years was shrouded in secrecy.

Living Skies is producing Sisters and Strangers, a six-part TV series about the tangled relationships between the families of Douglas Ellard, the father who raised Joanne, and Desmond Love, her biological father. Joanne is working on the script with Roy Brodnitz, a brilliant writer and friend. The project’s future seems assured, but before the script is completed, Brodnitz disappears while scouting locations in northern Saskatchewan. Hours later, he’s found — sweat-drenched, clawing at the ground, and muttering gibberish. He dies in a state of mortal terror. 

Heartsick and perplexed, Joanne resolves to learn what happened in the last hours of Roy’s life. What Joanne discovers threatens Brodnitz’s legacy, and the decision about whether or not to reveal the truth is hers to make. The Unlocking Season is another deeply satisfying and thought-provoking novel from one of Canada’s finest crime writers.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Scorched Earth
(DCI Jansen, book 2)
Rachael Blok
thumb
The Sleeping Nymph
(Teresa Battaglia, book 2)
Ilaria Tuti
thumb
In a Midnight Wood
(Jane Lawless, book 27)
Ellen Hart
thumb
Fire and Vengeance
(Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery, book 3)
Robert McCaw

Used availability for Gail Bowen's The Unlocking Season

Hardback Editions

September 2020 : Canada Hardback
thumb

Title: The Unlocking Season: A Joanne Kilbourn Mystery
Author(s): Gail Bowen
ISBN: 1-77041-528-9 / 978-1-77041-528-7 (Canada edition)
Publisher: ECW Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2021 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Unlocking Season: A Joanne Kilbourn Mystery
Author(s): Gail Bowen
ISBN: 1-77041-624-2 / 978-1-77041-624-6 (Canada edition)
Publisher: ECW Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

September 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Unlocking Season: A Joanne Kilbourn Mystery, Book 19
Author(s): Gail Bowen
Publisher: ECW Press
Availability: Amazon   


September 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Unlocking Season: A Joanne Kilbourn Mystery, Book 19
Author(s): Gail Bowen
Publisher: ECW Press
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

September 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Unlocking Season: A Joanne Kilbourn Mystery
Author(s): Gail Bowen
Publisher: ECW Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU