Deborah Crombie's picture

Deborah Crombie

USA flag (b.1952)

Deborah Crombie was born and educated in Texas. After living in both England and Scotland, she wrote her first Detective Superintendent Duncan Kincaid / Sergeant Gemma James novel. A Share in Death [Scribner, 1993], was subsequently given Agatha and Macavity nominations for Best First Novel of 1993. Her fifth novel, Dreaming of the Bones [Scribner, 1997] was given a Edgar award nomination by Mystery Writers of America for Best Novel in 1997. It was a New York Times Book of the Year, and was chosen by the Independent Mystery Booksellers of America as one of the 100 Best Crime Novels of the Century.

Genres: Mystery
Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James
   1. A Share in Death (1993)
   2. All Shall Be Well (1994)
   3. Leave the Grave Green (1995)
   4. Mourn Not Your Dead (1996)
   5. Dreaming of the Bones (1997)
   6. Kissed A Sad Goodbye (1999)
   7. A Finer End (2001)
   8. And Justice There Is None (2002)
   9. Now May You Weep (2003)
   10. In a Dark House (2004)
   11. Water Like a Stone (2007)
   12. Where Memories Lie (2008)
   13. Necessary as Blood (2009)
   14. No Mark Upon Her (2011)
   15. The Sound of Broken Glass (2013)
   16. To Dwell in Darkness (2014)
   17. The Garden of Lamentations (2017)
   18. A Bitter Feast (2019)
   19. A Killing of Innocents (2023)
   The Sunken Sailor (2004) (with others)
Omnibus editions show
Deborah Crombie recommends
The Paris Assignment (2023)
Rhys Bowen
"No one writes a wartime historical novel as well as Rhys Bowen. The Paris Assignment is a gripping, evocative, and skillfully plotted read, with a heroine you will root for right up to the satisfying conclusion. I couldn't put it down!"
The Truth Against the World (2023)
David Corbett
"The Truth Against the World is bloody amazing - a wild, enchanting ride across an apocalyptic America with characters who will steal your heart and surprises you won't see coming. The best novel yet from one of today's finest writers. I absolutely loved this book."
Desolate Places (2021)
(Callie Anson, book 5)
Kate Charles
"For lovers of British mystery, you can't top KC to shine a humane yet revealing light on crime, faith, family, love and human frailty in her compelling mysteries. Highly recommended!."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Deborah Crombie
Echoes of Sherlock Holmes (2016)
(Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon, book 1)
edited by
Laurie R King and Leslie S Klinger

Agatha Award Best Novel nominee (1997) : Dreaming of the Bones
Edgar Awards Best Novel nominee (1998) : Dreaming of the Bones
Macavity Awards Best Novel winner (1998) : Dreaming of the Bones
Macavity Awards Best Novel nominee (2008) : Water Like a Stone
Macavity Awards Best Novel winner (2009) : Where Memories Lie

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors