book cover of The Murder of Patience Brooke
Added by 10 of our members

The Murder of Patience Brooke

(2014)
(The first book in the Charles Dickens Investigations series)
A novel by

 
 
An intriguing detective series featuring Charles Dickens! Perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Victorian crime mysteries, A Christmas Carol and David Copperfield…

A brutal murder in Victorian London forces a famous writer to solve the mystery…


London, 1849


Charles Dickens has set up Urania Cottage as a sanctuary for fallen women.

But he is shocked when the matron’s assistant – Patience Brooke – is found hanging outside the property, covered in blood.

Desperate to protect the reputation of the Home and to stop a scandal from spreading, Dickens takes the investigation into his own hands.

With the help of his good friend, Superintendent Sam Jones of Bow Street, and a description of the suspect as ‘a man with a crooked face’, Dickens's search takes him deep into the filthy slums of Victorian London.

Can Dickens save his reputation? Will he find out the secrets of Patience Brooke’s troubled past?

Or will the killer strike again…?

The Murder of Patience Brooke is the first urban mystery in J. C. Briggs' literary historical series, the Charles Dickens investigations, a traditional British detective series set in Victorian London.

‘a well-written and engaging novel… the pages keep turning, and the evocation of foggy Victorian London is excellent’ - Historical Novel Society

‘In this gripping murder mystery, South Lakeland author Jean Briggs explores how Charles Dickens might have acted in the role of detective’ - The Westmorland Gazette

‘I enjoyed the depth of atmosphere evoked and the convincing depictions of Dickens and his family. The excitement of the investigation and its speeding tension is palpable. This is an excellent read on many levels’ - Promoting Crime Blog

‘an extremely engaging read. Jean Briggs is proving herself to be a crime writer to watch out for’ – Crime Fiction Lover

‘Fast-paced and well-written
, The Murder of Patience Brooke is sure to draw in fans of mysteries, Charles Dickens, and Victorian London alike’ - Dickens Blog

The Charles Dickens Investigations Series:
BOOK ONE: The Murder of Patience Brooke

BOOK TWO: Death at Hungerford Stairs
BOOK THREE: Murder by Ghostlight
BOOK FOUR: The Quickening and the Dead
BOOK FIVE: At Midnight In Venice
BOOK SIX: The Redemption Murders
BOOK SEVEN: The Mystery of the Hawke Sapphires
BOOK EIGHT: The Chinese Puzzle
BOOK NINE: Summons to Murder

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for J C Briggs's The Murder of Patience Brooke

Paperback Editions

December 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Murder of Patience Brooke: Victorian London is full of dark secrets...: 1 (Charles Dickens Investigations)
Author(s): J C Briggs
ISBN: 1-912786-83-4 / 978-1-912786-83-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sapere Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Murder of Patience Brooke: Charles Dickens & Superintendent Jones Investigate
Author(s): Briggs
ISBN: 0-7509-5443-4 / 978-0-7509-5443-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: The History Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Murder of Patience Brooke (The Charles Dickens Investigations Series)
Author(s): J C Briggs
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Murder of Patience Brooke (The Charles Dickens Investigations Series)
Author(s): J C Briggs
Publisher: Tantor and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


November 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Murder of Patience Brooke: Charles Dickens Investigations Series, Book 1
Author(s): J C Briggs
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


November 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Murder of Patience Brooke: Charles Dickens Investigations Series, Book 1
Author(s): J C Briggs
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

December 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Murder of Patience Brooke: Victorian London is full of dark secrets... (Charles Dickens Investigations Book 1)
Author(s): J C Briggs
Publisher: Sapere Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU