New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Miniaturist

The Miniaturist

(2014)
A novel by

 
 
Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam - a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion - a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . ."

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office - leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist - an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand - and fear - the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

    Get it on Google Play

Similar Books by other authors...


Used availability for Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist

Hardback Editions

June 2015 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 0-606-36934-1 / 978-0-606-36934-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2014 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist: A Novel
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 0-06-230681-2 / 978-0-06-230681-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4472-5089-3 / 978-1-4472-5089-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

December 2017 : UK Paperback

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-5098-5748-6 / 978-1-5098-5748-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2015 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4434-2847-7 / 978-1-4434-2847-7 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist: A Novel
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 0-06-230684-7 / 978-0-06-230684-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4472-8466-6 / 978-1-4472-8466-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4472-5093-1 / 978-1-4472-5093-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2014 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4434-2846-9 / 978-1-4434-2846-0 (Canada edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist: A Novel
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 0-06-232690-2 / 978-0-06-232690-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4472-5092-3 / 978-1-4472-5092-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

August 2014 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4830-4166-2 / 978-1-4830-4166-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2014 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist: A Novel
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4830-4167-0 / 978-1-4830-4167-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


August 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


July 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2014 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist: A Novel
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2014 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist: A Novel
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   


July 2014 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Miniaturist: A Richard and Judy Book Club Selection
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK