New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Next book >>

The Miniaturist

(2014)
A novel by

 
Set in 17th-century Amsterdam - a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion - a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed...."

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, 18-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office - leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist - an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways...

Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand - and fear - the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation...or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

 
Similar Books by other authors...


The Perfume Collector
Kathleen Tessaro

The Trouble with Goats and Sheep
Joanna Cannon

The House Girl
Tara Conklin

Fiercombe Manor
Kate Riordan
 
Used availability for Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

June 2015 : USA Library Binding
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 0-606-36934-1 / 978-0-606-36934-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 2014 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist: A Novel
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 0-06-230681-2 / 978-0-06-230681-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2014 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4472-5089-3 / 978-1-4472-5089-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

October 2017 : UK Paperback
Title: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-5098-5748-6 / 978-1-5098-5748-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   

July 2015 : Canada Paperback
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4434-2847-7 / 978-1-4434-2847-7 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2015 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist: A Novel
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 0-06-230684-7 / 978-0-06-230684-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4472-5093-1 / 978-1-4472-5093-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4472-8466-6 / 978-1-4472-8466-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   

September 2014 : Canada Paperback
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4434-2846-9 / 978-1-4434-2846-0 (Canada edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Availability: Amazon CA   

August 2014 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist: A Novel
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 0-06-232690-2 / 978-0-06-232690-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

July 2014 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4472-5092-3 / 978-1-4472-5092-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

August 2014 : USA Audio CD
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4830-4166-2 / 978-1-4830-4166-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 2014 : USA Audio CD
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist: A Novel
Author(s): Jessie Burton
ISBN: 1-4830-4167-0 / 978-1-4830-4167-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   

August 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   

July 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   

July 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

September 2014 : Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon CA   

August 2014 : USA Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist: A Novel
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   

July 2014 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Miniaturist
Author(s): Jessie Burton
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for