book cover of The Paris Apartment
Added by 53 of our members

The Paris Apartment

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
This heart-wrenching novel about family and war unearths generations of secrets and sacrifices—perfect for fans of The Paris Orphan and The Lost Girls of Paris.

2017, London: When Aurelia Leclaire inherits an opulent Paris apartment, she is shocked to discover her grandmother’s hidden secrets—including a treasure trove of famous art and couture gowns. One obscure painting leads her to Gabriel Seymour, a highly respected art restorer with his own mysterious past. Together they attempt to uncover the truths concealed within the apartment’s walls.
 
Paris, 1942: The Germans may occupy the City of Lights, but glamorous Estelle Allard flourishes in a world separate from the hardships of war. Yet when the Nazis come for her friends, Estelle doesn’t hesitate to help those she holds dear, no matter the cost. As she works against the forces intent on destroying her loved ones, she can’t know that her actions will have ramifications for generations to come.

Set seventy-five years apart, against a perilous and a prosperous Paris, both Estelle and Lia must unearth hidden courage as they navigate the dangers of a changing world, altering history—and their family’s futures—forever.

Genre: Thriller

Praise for this book

"Expertly weaving together history, suspense, and mystery, Bowen has produced a novel that's both exciting and profound, driven by compelling characters and stunning twists. A page-turner from start to finish." - Imogen Kealey

"Kelly Bowen's The Paris Apartment is a compelling story of two women navigating the dangers of occupied Paris with bravery and compassion. Bowen paints a richly layered picture of glamour, intrigue, and sacrifice that is at once heartbreaking and hopeful." - Julia Kelly

"A moving story of danger and intrigue, love and loss, set against the glamour of the Paris Ritz. Like the artworks so beautifully portrayed in this novel, The Paris Apartment is a treasure." - Christine Wells

"Kelly Bowen creates an evocative and thrilling glimpse into the lives of two heroic women risking everything in occupied Paris during World War II. A dual-timeline connects past and present; a painting of a house, two matching pendants, and old photographs of a woman act as pivotal clues that bridge between the two, and fine works of art and a heartfelt love story between two people who were destined to meet brings the story full circle. A lovely aha moment at the end and the reminder to make one's life count will make this book and its characters linger long after the last page is turned. A beautiful novel for fans of The Nightingale." - Karen White


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kelly Bowen's The Paris Apartment

Paperback Editions

April 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Paris Apartment
Author(s): Kelly Bowen
ISBN: 1-5387-1815-4 / 978-1-5387-1815-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Forever
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Paris Apartment
Author(s): Kelly Bowen
Publisher: Forever
Availability: Amazon   


June 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Paris Apartment
Author(s): Kelly Bowen
Publisher: Forever
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Paris Apartment
Author(s): Kelly Bowen
Publisher: Forever
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Paris Apartment
Author(s): Kelly Bowen
Publisher: Forever
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Paris Apartment
Author(s): Kelly Bowen
ISBN: 1-5491-1121-3 / 978-1-5491-1121-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hachette B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

April 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Paris Apartment
Author(s): Kelly Bowen
Publisher: Forever
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


April 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Paris Apartment
Author(s): Kelly Bowen
Publisher: Forever
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU