New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Scrapper

(2015)
A novel by

 

"Matt Bell does not write sentences-he writes spells."
Benjamin Percy


For fans of The Dog Stars and Station Eleven, Scrapper uses the real-life dystopia of a devastated Detroit as a backdrop for one man's desperate quest for justice and redemptive grace.

In the wake of tragedy, ex-boxer Kelly returns to Detroit after years in the South. Unable to find work, he scavenges for scrap metal in the hundred thousand abandoned buildings at the heart of the city, an area he calls "the zone", where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy handcuffed to a bed, crying out for rescue. After being celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly decides to avenge the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past, unearthing long-buried cycles of trauma and cruelty, memories made dangerous again.

    Get it on Google Play
 
Similar Books by other authors...


Purity
Jonathan Franzen

City On Fire
Garth Risk Hallberg

Once Upon a River
Bonnie Jo Campbell

The Nick Adams Stories
Ernest Hemingway
 
Used availability for Matt Bell's Scrapper


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

September 2015 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
ISBN: 1-61695-521-X / 978-1-61695-521-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

August 2016 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
ISBN: 1-61695-765-4 / 978-1-61695-765-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

September 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: Scrapper: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Bell
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   

Kindle Editions

September 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Search for