New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
For fans of The Dog Stars and Station Eleven, Scrapper traces one man's desperate quest for redemption in a devastated Detroit.

"Has the feel of Cormac McCarthy's The Road set in present-day Motor City... powerful."
- Publishers Weekly

Detroit has descended into ruin. Kelly scavenges for scrap metal from the hundred thousand abandoned buildings in a part of the city known as "the zone," an increasingly wild landscape where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy, crying out for rescue. Briefly celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly avenges the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past and long-buried traumas.

The second novel from the acclaimed author of In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods, Scrapper is a devastating reimagining of one of America's greatest cities, its beautiful architecture, its lost houses, shuttered factories, boxing gyms, and storefront churches. With precise, powerful prose, it asks: What do we owe for our crimes, even those we've committed to protect the people we love?

    Get it on Google Play

"Matt Bell does not write sentences-he writes spells." - Benjamin Percy


Similar Books by other authors...



Hardback Editions

September 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
ISBN: 1-61695-521-X / 978-1-61695-521-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

August 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
ISBN: 1-61695-765-4 / 978-1-61695-765-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

September 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrapper: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Bell
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


September 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrapper: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Bell
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for