New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    

"Matt Bell does not write sentences-he writes spells."
Benjamin Percy


For fans of The Dog Stars and Station Eleven, Scrapper traces one man's desperate quest for redemption in a devastated Detroit.

"Has the feel of Cormac McCarthy's The Road set in present-day Motor City... powerful."
- Publishers Weekly

Detroit has descended into ruin. Kelly scavenges for scrap metal from the hundred thousand abandoned buildings in a part of the city known as "the zone," an increasingly wild landscape where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy, crying out for rescue. Briefly celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly avenges the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past and long-buried traumas.

The second novel from the acclaimed author of In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods, Scrapper is a devastating reimagining of one of America's greatest cities, its beautiful architecture, its lost houses, shuttered factories, boxing gyms, and storefront churches. With precise, powerful prose, it asks: What do we owe for our crimes, even those we've committed to protect the people we love?

 
Used availability for Matt Bell's Scrapper


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

September 2015 : USA Hardback
Title: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
ISBN: 1-61695-521-X / 978-1-61695-521-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

August 2016 : USA Paperback
Title: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
ISBN: 1-61695-765-4 / 978-1-61695-765-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

September 2015 : USA Audio edition
Title: Scrapper: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Bell
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   

Kindle Editions

September 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for