New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
 
For fans of The Dog Stars and Station Eleven, Scrapper uses the real-life dystopia of a devastated Detroit as a backdrop for one man's desperate quest for justice and redemptive grace.

In the wake of tragedy, ex-boxer Kelly returns to Detroit after years in the South. Unable to find work, he scavenges for scrap metal in the hundred thousand abandoned buildings at the heart of the city, an area he calls "the zone", where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy handcuffed to a bed, crying out for rescue. After being celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly decides to avenge the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past, unearthing long-buried cycles of trauma and cruelty, memories made dangerous again.

    Get it on Google Play

Praise for this book

"Matt Bell does not write sentences-he writes spells." - Benjamin Percy


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Them
(Garden of Earthly Delights, book 3)
Joyce Carol Oates

Used availability for Matt Bell's Scrapper

Hardback Editions

September 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
ISBN: 1-61695-521-X / 978-1-61695-521-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

August 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
ISBN: 1-61695-765-4 / 978-1-61695-765-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

September 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrapper: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Bell
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


September 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Scrapper: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Bell
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2015 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Scrapper
Author(s): Matt Bell
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA