book cover of The Dark Lake
Added by 25 of our members

The Dark Lake

(2017)
(The first book in the Gemma Woodstock series)
A novel by

 
 
A tight-knit community is shocked by revelations from decades past in this "enthralling" (Associated Press) literary mystery that "will keep you racing toward the end" (Lisa Gardner).

The lead homicide investigator in a rural town, Detective Sergeant Gemma Woodstock is deeply unnerved when a high school classmate is found strangled, her body floating in a lake. And not just any classmate, but Rosalind Ryan, whose beauty and inscrutability exerted a magnetic pull on Smithson High School, first during Rosalind's student years and then again when she returned to teach drama.

As much as Rosalind's life was a mystery to Gemma when they were students together, her death presents even more of a puzzle. What made Rosalind quit her teaching job in Sydney and return to her hometown? Why did she live in a small, run-down apartment when her father was one of the town's richest men? And despite her many admirers, did anyone in the town truly know her?

Rosalind's enigmas frustrate and obsess Gemma, who has her own dangerous secrets--an affair with her colleague and past tragedies that may not stay in the past. Brilliantly rendered, The Dark Lake has characters as compelling and mysteries as layered as the best thrillers from Gillian Flynn and Sophie Hannah.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A stunning debut that gripped me from page one and never eased up. Dark, dark, dark-but infused with insight, pathos, a great sense of place, and razor-sharp writing. It's going to be big and Sarah Bailey needs to clear a shelf for awards." - C J Box

"I raced through this deliciously complicated, mesmerizing debut at warp speed. Sarah Bailey's The Dark Lake is sure to keep readers awake far too late into the night." - Karen Dionne

"Hooked me from page one! [A] stunning debut thriller... With clever twists and all-too-human characters, this book will keep you racing toward the end." - Lisa Gardner

"A mesmerizing thriller full of long buried secrets that sucked me right in and kept me up late turning pages... An exquisite debut." - Jennifer McMahon

"Beautifully written, compulsively, readable, and highly recommended." - Douglas Preston


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Legacy of Lies
(Bocephus Haynes, book 1)
Robert Bailey
thumb
The Poacher's Son
(Mike Bowditch Mystery, book 1)
Paul Doiron

Used availability for Sarah Bailey's The Dark Lake

Hardback Editions

May 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake (Gemma Woodstock (1))
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-5387-5990-X / 978-1-5387-5990-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake: A stunning thriller perfect for fans of Jane Harper's The Dry (Detective Woodstock series)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-78649-356-X / 978-1-78649-356-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake (Gemma Woodstock (1))
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-5387-5992-6 / 978-1-5387-5992-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : Australia Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-76063-297-X / 978-1-76063-297-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake: A stunning thriller perfect for fans of Jane Harper's The Dry
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-78649-354-3 / 978-1-78649-354-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-5252-5005-1 / 978-1-5252-5005-7 (Canada edition)
Publisher: ReadHowYouWant
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2017 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-76029-589-2 / 978-1-76029-589-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-4789-9686-2 / 978-1-4789-9686-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hachette Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake Lib/E (Gemma Woodstock Series, 1)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-4789-9683-8 / 978-1-4789-9683-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon   


October 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


June 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake: A stunning thriller perfect for fans of Jane Harper's The Dry (Detective Woodstock series)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake (Gemma Woodstock Book 1)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake (Gemma Woodstock Book 1)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU