book cover of The Dark Lake
Added by 31 of our members

The Dark Lake

(2017)
(The first book in the Gemma Woodstock series)
A novel by

 
 
There were a few minutes when I was alone with her in the autopsy room. I felt wild. Absent. Before I could stop myself I was leaning close to her, telling her everything. The words draining out of me as she lay there. Her long damp hair hanging off the back of the steel table. Glassy eyes fixed blindly on the ceiling. She was still so beautiful, even in death.

Our secrets circled madly around the bright white room that morning. Rocking back and forth on my heels as I stood next to her, I knew how far in I was again, how comprehensively her death could undo me. I looked at Rosalind Ryan properly for the last time before breathing deeply, readying myself, letting her pull me back into her world, and I sank down, further and further, until I was completely, utterly under.


A beautiful young teacher has been murdered, her body found in the lake, strewn with red roses. Local policewoman Detective Sergeant Gemma Woodstock pushes to be assigned to the case, concealing the fact that she knew the murdered woman in high school years before.

But that's not all Gemma's trying to hide. As the investigation digs deeper into the victim's past, other secrets threaten to come to light, secrets that were supposed to remain buried. The lake holds the key to solving the murder, but it also has the power to drag Gemma down into its dark depths.

The Dark Lake is an addictive crime thriller, a mesmerising account of one woman's descent into deceit and madness, and a stunning debut that is already causing a stir around the world.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A stunning debut that gripped me from page one and never eased up. Dark, dark, dark-but infused with insight, pathos, a great sense of place, and razor-sharp writing. It's going to be big and Sarah Bailey needs to clear a shelf for awards." - C J Box

"I raced through this deliciously complicated, mesmerizing debut at warp speed. Sarah Bailey's The Dark Lake is sure to keep readers awake far too late into the night." - Karen Dionne

"Hooked me from page one! [A] stunning debut thriller... With clever twists and all-too-human characters, this book will keep you racing toward the end." - Lisa Gardner

"A mesmerizing thriller full of long buried secrets that sucked me right in and kept me up late turning pages... An exquisite debut." - Jennifer McMahon

"Beautifully written, compulsively, readable, and highly recommended." - Douglas Preston


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Sarah Bailey's The Dark Lake

Hardback Editions

May 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake (Gemma Woodstock, 1)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-5387-5990-X / 978-1-5387-5990-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake: A stunning thriller perfect for fans of Jane Harper's The Dry (Detective Woodstock series)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-78649-356-X / 978-1-78649-356-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake (Gemma Woodstock, 1)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-5387-5992-6 / 978-1-5387-5992-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : Australia Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-76063-297-X / 978-1-76063-297-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake: A stunning thriller perfect for fans of Jane Harper's The Dry
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-78649-354-3 / 978-1-78649-354-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2017 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-5252-5005-1 / 978-1-5252-5005-7 (Canada edition)
Publisher: ReadHowYouWant
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2017 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-76029-589-2 / 978-1-76029-589-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-4789-9686-2 / 978-1-4789-9686-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hachette Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake Lib/E (Gemma Woodstock Series, 1)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
ISBN: 1-4789-9683-8 / 978-1-4789-9683-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon   


October 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


June 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake: A stunning thriller perfect for fans of Jane Harper's The Dry (Detective Woodstock series)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake (Gemma Woodstock Book 1)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Dark Lake (Gemma Woodstock Book 1)
Author(s): Sarah Bailey
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU