C J Box's picture
Followed by 592 of our members

C J Box

(Charles James Box, Jr.)
USA flag (b.1958)

C. J. Box is the New York Times bestselling author of many novels including the Joe Pickett series. He has won the Edgar Alan Poe Award for Best Novel (Blue Heaven, 2009) as well as the Anthony Award, Prix Calibre 38 (France), the Macavity Award, the Gumshoe Award, the Barry Award, and the 2010 Mountains & Plains Independent Booksellers Association Award for fiction. Open Season, Blue Heaven, Nowhere to Run, and The Highway have been optioned for film and television. Over four million copies of his novels have been sold in the U.S. alone and they have been translated into twenty-seven languages. He lives in Wyoming.

Genres: Mystery
Series contributed to
Anthony Awards Best First Novel winner (2002) : Open Season
Edgar Awards Best Novel winner (2009) : Blue Heaven
Barry Awards Best Novel winner (2016) : Badlands

C J Box recommends
The Barbed-Wire Kiss (2003)
(Harry Rane Mystery, book 1)
Wallace Stroby
"The Barbed-Wire Kiss is as gritty and tough as its Soprano-land New Jersey setting, and Wallace Stroby is a no-nonsense guide and a fine writer."
Wild Inferno (2008)
(Wild Mystery, book 2)
Sandi Ault
"Jamaica Wild (and her wolf, Montain) are formidable new players in outdoor mystery fiction."
Poacher's Moon (2008)
John D Nesbitt
"John Nesbitt knows hunting, knows Wyoming, knows the interplay of men in the field, and knows how to tell an authentic, warts-and-all story of the real outdoors."
The Poacher's Son (2010)
(Mike Bowditch Mystery, book 1)
Paul Doiron
"[An] excellent debut... filled with murder, betrayal, and a terrific sense of place."
Sundance (2014)
David Fuller
"Intriguing and unique."
Canyon Sacrifice (2014)
(National Park Mystery, book 1)
Scott Graham
"A terrific debut novel."
Buffalo Trail (2015)
(Cash McLendon, book 2)
Jeff Guinn
"Glorious is old-fashioned in the very best way: it’s good-hearted, optimistic, compelling, comfortable, and extremely well told."
Nothing Short of Dying (2016)
(Clyde Barr, book 1)
Erik Storey
"Furious, Non-stop action...Clyde Barr is not a man to be messed with."
Hawke's Prey (2017)
(Sonny Hawke, book 1)
Reavis Z Wortham
"Reavis Z Wortham is the real thing."
This Scorched Earth (2018)
William Gear
"Thoroughly engaging."
Bearskin (2018)
James A McLaughlin
"Bearskin is visceral, raw, and compelling—filled with sights, smells, and sounds truly observed. It’s a powerful debut and an absolute showcase of exceptional prose. There are very few first novels when I feel compelled to circle brilliant passages, but James McLaughlin’s writing had me doing just that."
A Death in Eden (2018)
(Sean Stranahan Mystery, book 7)
Keith McCafferty
"A top-notch, first-rate, can't-miss novelist."
Maze Master (2018)
Kathleen O'Neal Gear
"Dazzling...MAZE MASTER is an epic, breathless countdown to the end of mankind that can only be saved by locating and understanding ancient clues."
The Paris Diversion (2019)
(Expats, book 2)
Chris Pavone
"Since he exploded onto the scene with The Expats, Chris Pavone has quickly become one of the elite must-read can’t-miss thriller writers working today. Grab The Paris Diversion and hold on for the ride."
Won't Back Down (2019)
(Jack Keller, book 6)
J D Rhoades
"J D Rhoades writes action as well as anybody in the business."
The Heartless (2020)
(Bruno Johnson, book 7)
David Putnam
"...A shocking and intense tale of brotherly love and redemption."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors