Victor Bridges

(George de Freyne)
UK flag (1878 - 1972)

Victor Bridges (real name Victor George de Freyne, 18781972) was a prolific English author of detective and fantasy fiction, and also a playwright and occasional poet.

Born on 14 March 1878 at Clifton, Bristol, Victor George de Freyne may have been connected with a propertied family in County Sligo, Ireland. He was educated at Haileybury and Imperial Service College. He worked as a bank employee and as an actor in repertory theatre before becoming a full-time writer.

Bridges began to publish crime and mystery stories and novels regularly in 1909. He was an early signing by the new London publishing firm of Mills & Boon, which was initially a light fiction publisher in a wide range of genres.Many of his stories were set in Essex and East Anglia. He also had two volumes of poetry published.

He married in 1920 Margaret Lindsay Mackay, who died in 1957. He himself died on 29 November 1972.
   Another Man's Shoes (1913)
   The Man from Nowhere (1913)
   Mr. Lyndon At Liberty (1915)
     aka A Rogue By Compulsion
   The Lady from Long Acre (1918)
   Geen Sea Island (1922)
   The Red Lodge (1924)
   The Girl in Black (1926)
   The King Comes Back (1930)
   The Secret of the Creek (1930)
   The Happy Murderers (1932)
   I Did Not Kill Osborne (1933)
     aka Three Blind Mice
   Peter In Peril (1935)
   Blue Silver (1936)
   It Happened In Essex (1938)
   The Seven Stars (1939)
   Dusky Night (1940)
   The House On the Saltings (1941)
   The Man Who Butted In (1942)
   The Gulls Fly Low (1943)
   It Never Rains (1944)
   Trouble On the Thames (1945)
   The Man Who Limped (1947)
   Accidents Will Happen (1948)
   Quite Like Old Days (1949)
   The Tenth Commandment (1951)
   We Don't Want to Lose You (1952)
   All Very Irregular (1953)
   The Man Who Vanished (1954)
   The Secret of the Saltings (1955)
   What The Doctor Ordered (1956)
   Exit Mr. Marlowe (1957)
   The Creaking Gate (1958)
   Secrecy Essential (1959)
   The Girl From Belfast (1961)
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbno image available
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
no image availableno image availablethumbthumb
thumbno image availableno image availableno image available
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
   The Cruise Of The Scandal (1920)
     aka Jetsam

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors