book cover of Cut to the Bone
Added by 17 of our members

Cut to the Bone

(2016)
(The first book in the DCI Kate Riley and Zain Harris series)
A novel by

 
 
Ruby Day is a young vlogger, a rising star of YouTube, and a wholesome role-model to millions of teenage girls. And she is missing. Detective Inspector Kate Riley, the head of a new high-powered team of detectives, and Detective Superintendent Zain Harris, the newest member of the team and a poster boy for multiracial policing, are brought in for what they expect to be a routine runaway. Then a video of a wild-eyed Ruby running through the woods and begging for her life is posted online. Amid mounting hysteria and heightened media coverage calling for Ruby’s safe return, Riley and Harris must decode the dark secrets of this seemingly squeaky-clean internet darling. Their hunt leads them to a smug ex-boyfriend who hungers for online fame of his own, a culture of online cyber bullying by anonymous thugs, and a corporation of ruthless advertisers who exploit online celebrities for their network of eager consumers. It becomes increasingly clear that the case is more complicated and nightmarish than Riley and Harris could have imagined. And the videos keep coming . . .

This debut novel is a slick, contemporary police procedural that explores the dichotomy of public life and one lived online. For fans of Megan Abbot and Kimberly McCreight, Cut to the Bone provides a harrowing glimpse into the friendships, ambitions, and secrets of the internet generation.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A chillingly authentic, bang-on-trend thriller - one you'd be a fool to miss." - Lisa Hall

"Left me positively breathless." - Angela Marsons


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Deadly Cry
(Detective Kim Stone Crime Thriller, book 13)
Angela Marsons
thumb
Only The Innocent
(DI Tom Douglas, book 1)
Rachel Abbott
thumb
Scared to Death
(Detective Kay Hunter, book 1)
Rachel Amphlett

Used availability for Alex Caan's Cut to the Bone

Hardback Editions

March 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone: A Thriller
Author(s): Alex Caan
ISBN: 1-5107-1943-1 / 978-1-5107-1943-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Skyhorse
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone: A Dark and Gripping Thriller
Author(s): Alex Caan, Nadeem Caan
ISBN: 1-78577-050-0 / 978-1-78577-050-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Twenty7
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone: A Dark and Gripping Thriller (A Riley and Harris Thriller)
Author(s): Alex Caan
ISBN: 1-78577-049-7 / 978-1-78577-049-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Twenty7
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2017 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone
Author(s): Alex Caan
ISBN: 1-4893-8725-0 / 978-1-4893-8725-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2017 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone
Author(s): Alex Caan
ISBN: 1-4893-8727-7 / 978-1-4893-8727-1 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2017 : Australia MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone
Author(s): Alex Caan
ISBN: 1-4893-8726-9 / 978-1-4893-8726-4 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone
Author(s): Alex Caan
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


November 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone
Author(s): Alex Caan
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone
Author(s): Alex Caan
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone
Author(s): Alex Caan
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


November 2016 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone: 1
Author(s): Alex Caan
ISBN: 1-4893-6744-6 / 978-1-4893-6744-0 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Bonnier audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


November 2016 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone: 1
Author(s): Alex Caan
ISBN: 1-4893-6745-4 / 978-1-4893-6745-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Bonnier audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

March 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone: A Thriller
Author(s): Alex Caan
Publisher: Skyhorse
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2016 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Cut to the Bone: A Dark and Gripping Thriller
Author(s): Alex Caan
Publisher: twenty7
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU