New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
book cover of 

Cut to the Bone

Cut to the Bone

(2016)
A novel by

 
Ruby Day is a young vlogger, a rising star of YouTube, and a wholesome role-model to millions of teenage girls. And she is missing. Detective Inspector Kate Riley, the head of a new high-powered team of detectives, and Detective Superintendent Zain Harris, the newest member of the team and a poster boy for multiracial policing, are brought in for what they expect to be a routine runaway. Then a video of a wild-eyed Ruby running through the woods and begging for her life is posted online. Amid mounting hysteria and heightened media coverage calling for Ruby's safe return, Riley and Harris must decode the dark secrets of this seemingly squeaky-clean internet darling. Their hunt leads them to a smug ex-boyfriend who hungers for online fame of his own, a culture of online cyber bullying by anonymous thugs, and a corporation of ruthless advertisers who exploit online celebrities for their network of eager consumers. It becomes increasingly clear that the case is more complicated and nightmarish than Riley and Harris could have imagined. And the videos keep coming . . .

This debut novel is a slick, contemporary police procedural that explores the dichotomy of public life and one lived online. For fans of Megan Abbot and Kimberly McCreight, Cut to the Bone provides a harrowing glimpse into the friendships, ambitions, and secrets of the internet generation.

Genre: Mystery
 
Similar Books by other authors...


Silent Scream
(Detective Kim Stone, book 1)

Angela Marsons

Love Story, With Murders
(Fiona Griffiths, book 2)

Harry Bingham

Talking to the Dead
(Fiona Griffiths, book 1)

Harry Bingham

Bitter Fruits
(DI Erica Martin, book 1)

Alice Clark-Platts
 
Used availability for Alex Caan's Cut to the Bone


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

March 2017 : Hardback
Title: Cut to the Bone: A Thriller
Author(s): Alex Caan
ISBN: 1-5107-1943-1 / 978-1-5107-1943-9
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

November 2016 : UK Paperback
Title: Cut to the Bone: A Dark and Gripping Thriller (A Riley and Harris Thriller)
Author(s): Alex Caan
ISBN: 1-78577-049-7 / 978-1-78577-049-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Twenty7
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

March 2016 : UK Paperback
Title: Cut to the Bone: A Dark and Gripping Thriller
Author(s): Alex Caan
ISBN: 1-78577-050-0 / 978-1-78577-050-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Twenty7
Availability: Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

November 2016 : USA Audio edition
Title: Cut to the Bone
Author(s): Alex Caan
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   

November 2016 : UK Audio edition
Title: Cut to the Bone
Author(s): Alex Caan
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

March 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
Title: Cut to the Bone: A Thriller
Author(s): Alex Caan
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

July 2016 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
Title: Cut to the Bone: A Dark and Gripping Thriller
Author(s): Alex Caan
Publisher: twenty7
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   



Search for