book cover of Girl, 11
Added by 40 of our members

Girl, 11

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
"Propulsive... Not only is the book difficult to put down, it’s also an adroit exploration of the ethical quandaries of true-crime storytelling, particularly in podcasts."
The New York Times Book Review
 
Elle Castillo once trained as a social worker, supporting young victims of violent crime. Now she hosts a popular true crime podcast that focuses on cold cases of missing and abducted children.
 
After four seasons of successfully solving these cases in Minnesota’s Twin Cities, Elle decides to tackle her white whale: The Countdown Killer. Twenty years ago, TCK was terrorizing the community, kidnapping and ritualistically murdering three girls over seven days, each a year younger than the last. Then, after he took his eleven-year-old victim, the pattern—and the murders—abruptly stopped. No one has ever known why.
 
When Elle follows up on a listener tip only to discover the man’s dead body, she feels at fault. Then, within days, a child is abducted—a young girl who seems to fit suspiciously into the TCK sequence halted decades before. While media and law enforcement long ago concluded that TCK had suicided, Elle has never believed TCK was dead. She had hoped her investigation would lay that suspicion to rest, but her podcast seems instead to be inciting new victims.
 
“A masterful, heart-pounding suspense that ushers in an astonishing new voice in crime fiction."
—Samantha M. Bailey, internationally bestselling author of Woman on the Edge

“A tale of obsession, dark histories, and one woman’s quest to bring a terrifying killer to justice, GIRL, 11 is delivered with poise, style, and cunning - making it impossible to put down.”
—Alex Segura, acclaimed author of Miami Midnight and Blackout


Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Delectably tense and terrifying, GIRL, 11 introduces us to a dormant serial killer and the podcaster who will risk everything—even her own life—to uncover his identity. With psychological precision and electric storytelling, Amy Suiter Clarke has created a thriller that feels ripped from the headlines, her Countdown Killer becoming as real to the reader as the Golden State Killer or BTK. True crime fanatics will find their new obsession in this dark, page-turning debut." - Megan Collins

"Girl, 11 is a dazzlingly twisted and dark thriller with complex characters, a neo-Gothic atmosphere and a killer that ranks with some of the most disturbing in the genre. Amy Suiter Clarke is a magnificent guide through this macabre labyrinth!" - S A Cosby

"GIRL, 11 is a chilling, expertly-constructed thriller that strikes the perfect balance between page-turning twists and piercing commentary on the true cost of crime. If you devoured I’ll Be Gone In The Dark, Amy Suiter Clarke’s debut is about to be your new obsession." - Layne Fargo

"Clarke knows how to get a reader’s heart hammering." - Candice Fox

"Amy Suiter Clarke comes out of the gate running with a confident and riveting debut perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Meg Gardiner. GIRL, 11 follows the host of an investigative podcast tracking a bloodthirsty serial killer as he counts down to his youngest victim yet. I bit my nails through every twist in this pitch-perfect thrill-ride--and teared up at its commitment to honoring victims of violence everywhere." - Amy Gentry

"Twisty and tense! GIRL, 11 is a stirring and stunning tale of secrets, saviors and serial killers. This story stays with you long after you've reached the last page!" - Rachel Howzell Hall

"GIRL, 11 is a powerful, engaging debut from Amy Suiter Clarke—and gives readers a memorable, genuine protagonist in Elle Castillo. Clarke crafts a tale of obsession, dark histories, and one woman’s quest to bring a terrifying killer to justice, GIRL, 11 is delivered with poise, style, and cunning - making it impossible to put down." - Alex Segura

"In this remarkable debut, Amy Suiter Clarke weaves together narratives from a true crime podcaster’s real life and her broadcasts as she tracks down a serial killer who may have returned after years of lying in wait. This compelling and skillfully crafted story will keep readers glued to the pages. GIRL, 11 is current, twisty, and utterly irresistible!" - Wendy Walker


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Amy Suiter Clarke's Girl, 11

Hardback Editions

April 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
ISBN: 0-358-41893-3 / 978-0-358-41893-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2022 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
ISBN: 0-358-69741-7 / 978-0-358-69741-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Mariner Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Girl, 11: 'Supremely twisty' KATIE LOWE
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
ISBN: 1-78227-689-0 / 978-1-78227-689-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pushkin Vertigo
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
Publisher: Wavesound from W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


July 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
Publisher: Wavesound from W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
ISBN: 0-358-44902-2 / 978-0-358-44902-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HMH Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
ISBN: 1-79996-905-3 / 978-1-79996-905-1
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
Publisher: HMH Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
Publisher: HMH Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

May 2021 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
Publisher: Text Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2021 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
Publisher: Pushkin Vertigo
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Girl, 11
Author(s): Amy Suiter Clarke
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA