book cover of The Rehearsals
Added by 9 of our members
 

The Rehearsals

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
The wedding is tomorrow. If they can only get through today...

Long-time couple Megan Givens and Tom Prescott are preparing for what should be the happiest weekend of their lives. But their plans for a perfect wedding are ruined when a huge fight causes them to call it all off on the night of their rehearsal dinner.

Megan and Tom think the worst is over - until they wake up the next morning and find themselves stuck in a time loop. Somehow they are being forced to relive the worst day of their lives - with its painful secrets, age-old grievances, and family dramas - again and again.

We've all had regrets and what ifs; The Rehearsals imagines what you might do with the chance to finally get it right.



Genre: Romance

Praise for this book

"A clever and engrossing story . . . I loved the whole backdrop to their Groundhog Day-style predicament: the picturesque wedding venue, the clashing families, and the way the recurring day developed layers and surprises as Megan and Tom tried to get themselves out of the loop." - Helen Cooper

"A compelling, clever look at the hard work of growing up in our relationships—with friends, family, lovers, and ourselves—woven through with humor and tremendous heart." - Rosie Danan

"A truly absorbing read, told with wit and heart, and impossible to put down. Annette Christie is a master of creating characters that feel like friends, where you hate to turn that last page and say goodbye." - Jen DeLuca

"A refreshing and very astute observation of relationships, both the ones you have with the people closest to you and the one you have with yourself. It's smart and nuanced, the kind of book that makes its reader feel seen. Anything set around a wedding is kryptonite for me, and Annette Christie beautifully weaves wedding angst with secrets, betrayals, confrontation, and what it really means to choose someone else, and yourself. . . . A beautiful, fun, surprising book." - Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

"Utterly captivating, charming, and brilliant. With a compelling plot and relatable characters, The Rehearsals explores the raw emotions behind the question of 'what if' and the true meaning of second chances." - Sonia Hartl

"A funny, clever, enchanting story about finding our way back to ourselves and to those we truly love. It had me spellbound from the first page. . . . The Rehearsals is refreshingly honest about the ups and downs of long-term relationships, whether romantic or family, handling its themes with wit and zest. Terrific fun from beginning to end!" - Sarah Haywood

"An enchanting and compelling look at life's what-ifs. Christie writes with honesty, heart, and a great deal of charm." - Helen Hoang

"Christie's sparkling and witty debut explores the tangled web of the night before a wedding. Through Tom and Megan, we discover the importance of second or more chances, and how learning to listen (to others and yourself) is the key to love and happiness." - Roselle Lim

"A humorous, honest look at the complexities of relationships and the sacrifices we make to maintain them. A refreshing read for fans of Rachel Lynn Solomon and Emily Henry." - Suzanne Park

"I was thrilled when the story delivered, one hundred percent, on the promise of its intriguing premise. Christie grabbed me on the first page and didn’t let me go until the end, when I closed and book and smiled. A warm and touching novel by a wonderfully talented author." - Mary Simses

"A whip-smart Groundhog Day reincarnation that will have you laughing and cringing in equal measure. The Rehearsals not only takes you on a wild ride, it forces you to ask yourself if you’re living your best life. Hilarious, heartfelt, and stay-up-all-night addictive." - Kelly Siskind

"A deeply special book, warm and wise and filled with undeniable tenderness. Annette Christie draws her not-quite-newlyweds Megan and Tom with tremendous empathy, and I rooted for them on all their wild misadventures, eager to find out what would happen each time they woke up. An effervescent, one-of-a-kind love story." - Rachel Lynn Solomon


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Annette Christie's The Rehearsals

Hardback Editions

July 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals: The wedding is tomorrow . . . if they can make it through today. An unforgettable romantic comedy
Author(s): Annette Christie, Annette Christie
ISBN: 1-5293-4875-7 / 978-1-5293-4875-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
ISBN: 0-316-59299-4 / 978-0-316-59299-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals: The wedding is tomorrow . . . if they can make it through today. An unforgettable romantic comedy
Author(s): Annette Christie, Annette Christie
ISBN: 1-5293-4879-X / 978-1-5293-4879-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2022 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
ISBN: 0-316-59297-8 / 978-0-316-59297-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals: The wedding is tomorrow . . . if they can make it through today. An unforgettable romantic comedy
Author(s): Annette Christie, Annette Christie
ISBN: 1-5293-4876-5 / 978-1-5293-4876-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
ISBN: 1-5491-6502-X / 978-1-5491-6502-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hachette Book Group and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


July 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Availability: Amazon   


July 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals: The wedding is tomorrow . . . if they can make it through today. An unforgettable romantic comedy
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals: The wedding is tomorrow . . . if they can make it through today. An unforgettable romantic comedy
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals: The wedding is tomorrow . . . if they can make it through today. An unforgettable romantic comedy
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU