book cover of The Rehearsals
Added by 4 of our members

The Rehearsals

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
In this delightful and romantic debut novel―with a Groundhog Day twista couple calls off their wedding after a disastrous rehearsal dinner, only to wake up the next morning trapped in a time loop. Together.

Two people. One wedding. No end in sight.

"A sweet, delightful romance." —People
“Irresistible.” —Elin Hilderbrand
"An enchanting and compelling look at life's what-if's." —Helen Hoang
"Terrific fun from beginning to end." —Sarah Haywood

Megan Givens and Tom Prescott are heading into what is supposed to be their magical wedding weekend on beautiful San Juan Island. But with two difficult families, ten years of history, and all too many secrets, things quickly go wrong. After a disastrous rehearsal dinner they vow to call the whole thing off—only to wake up the next morning stuck together in a time loop. Are they really destined to relive the worst day of their lives, over and over? And what happens if their wedding day does arrive?

A funny, romantic, and big-hearted debut novel, The Rehearsals imagines what we might do if given a second chance at life and at love—and what it means to finally get both right.

Genre: Romance

Praise for this book

"A clever and engrossing story . . . I loved the whole backdrop to their Groundhog Day-style predicament: the picturesque wedding venue, the clashing families, and the way the recurring day developed layers and surprises as Megan and Tom tried to get themselves out of the loop." - Helen Cooper

"A compelling, clever look at the hard work of growing up in our relationships—with friends, family, lovers, and ourselves—woven through with humor and tremendous heart." - Rosie Danan

"A truly absorbing read, told with wit and heart, and impossible to put down. Annette Christie is a master of creating characters that feel like friends, where you hate to turn that last page and say goodbye." - Jen DeLuca

"A refreshing and very astute observation of relationships, both the ones you have with the people closest to you and the one you have with yourself. It's smart and nuanced, the kind of book that makes its reader feel seen. Anything set around a wedding is kryptonite for me, and Annette Christie beautifully weaves wedding angst with secrets, betrayals, confrontation, and what it really means to choose someone else, and yourself. . . . A beautiful, fun, surprising book." - Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

"Utterly captivating, charming, and brilliant. With a compelling plot and relatable characters, The Rehearsals explores the raw emotions behind the question of 'what if' and the true meaning of second chances." - Sonia Hartl

"A funny, clever, enchanting story about finding our way back to ourselves and to those we truly love. It had me spellbound from the first page. . . . The Rehearsals is refreshingly honest about the ups and downs of long-term relationships, whether romantic or family, handling its themes with wit and zest. Terrific fun from beginning to end!" - Sarah Haywood

"An enchanting and compelling look at life's what-ifs. Christie writes with honesty, heart, and a great deal of charm." - Helen Hoang

"Christie's sparkling and witty debut explores the tangled web of the night before a wedding. Through Tom and Megan, we discover the importance of second or more chances, and how learning to listen (to others and yourself) is the key to love and happiness." - Roselle Lim

"A humorous, honest look at the complexities of relationships and the sacrifices we make to maintain them. A refreshing read for fans of Rachel Lynn Solomon and Emily Henry." - Suzanne Park

"I was thrilled when the story delivered, one hundred percent, on the promise of its intriguing premise. Christie grabbed me on the first page and didn’t let me go until the end, when I closed and book and smiled. A warm and touching novel by a wonderfully talented author." - Mary Simses

"A whip-smart Groundhog Day reincarnation that will have you laughing and cringing in equal measure. The Rehearsals not only takes you on a wild ride, it forces you to ask yourself if you’re living your best life. Hilarious, heartfelt, and stay-up-all-night addictive." - Kelly Siskind

"A deeply special book, warm and wise and filled with undeniable tenderness. Annette Christie draws her not-quite-newlyweds Megan and Tom with tremendous empathy, and I rooted for them on all their wild misadventures, eager to find out what would happen each time they woke up. An effervescent, one-of-a-kind love story." - Rachel Lynn Solomon


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Annette Christie's The Rehearsals

Hardback Editions

July 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals: An unforgettable romantic comedy for fans of Palm Springs and Groundhog Day
Author(s): Annette Christie, Annette Christie
ISBN: 1-5293-4875-7 / 978-1-5293-4875-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
ISBN: 0-316-59299-4 / 978-0-316-59299-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals: An unforgettable romantic comedy for fans of Palm Springs and Groundhog Day
Author(s): Annette Christie, Annette Christie
ISBN: 1-5293-4876-5 / 978-1-5293-4876-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
ISBN: 1-5491-6502-X / 978-1-5491-6502-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hachette Book Group and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


July 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Availability: Amazon   


July 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Rehearsals: An unforgettable romantic comedy for fans of Palm Springs and Groundhog Day
Author(s): Annette Christie
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU