New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of Shadow Play

Shadow Play

(The sixth book in the Laura Winslow series)
A novel by


A computer hacker and registered PI, Laura Winslow has seen death before, but it never looked quite like the apparent murder–suicide of a reclusive Navajo and his female companion.

A refugee from a violent world, Laura has become ensnared in an investigation she should steer clear of, joining her lover, policeman Nathan Brittles, in an attempt to make sense of a bloody puzzle where the pieces don't fit. Because the signposts on the twisted path to the truth warn of the impossible - a demon, a skinwalker on the prowl - as Laura Winslow follows a trail leading to the darkest corners of a gambling palace, chasing a phantom she cannot believe in ... until it's her turn to die.

About the Author:
David Cole is also the author of four previous books in this series. In 1994, he co-founded NativeWeb, an Internet corporation for Native Americans and indigenous peoples of the world. A long-time political activist, he is currently writing a sociological study of hate crimes and community healing, based on the 1998 murder of James Byrd in Jasper, Texas. He lives in Syracuse, New York, with cultural anthropologist Deborah Pellow, a professor at Syracuse University. He also has a place in the desert near Tucson, Arizona, where he spends eight to ten weeks a year writing and researching.


Praise for this book

"Every bit as good as Hillerman, Laura Winslow is a tough lady PI with a distinctly soft center." - Rhys Bowen

Used availability for David Cole's Shadow Play

Paperback Editions

July 2004 : USA Mass Market Paperback

Title: Shadow Play
Author(s): David Cole
ISBN: 0-06-051194-X / 978-0-06-051194-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Avon
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA