Ashley Winstead's picture
24 followers

Ashley Winstead



Ashley Winstead writes about women finding meaning and catharsis across genres. She has a Ph.D. in English and lives in Houston with her husband, two cats, and beloved wine fridge.

Genres: Mystery, Romance
 
Ashley Winstead recommends
thumb
The Replacement Wife (2021)
Darby Kane
"I devoured The Replacement Wife. I absolutely loved every minute of this wild ride. I'm left in awe of Kane's ability to suck readers in from page one. I could not stop turning the pages. Every reveal rocketed up the tension...so well-done and gave me that precious can't-wait-until-I-can-go-back-to-my-book feeling. Fast-paced and super addictive!"
thumb
Catch Her When She Falls (2022)
Allison Buccola
"Gripping and mesmerizing, reading Catch Her When She Falls is like watching a building catch fire, aware that dark ends are coming but unable to look away. Ten years after a shocking murder, amateur sleuths question whether the man in prison is responsible, causing his former girlfriend to reopen a case she never wanted to confront again. As new clues pile up, her paranoia and fear ratchet higher until almost everyone is a suspect. A portrait of a woman unraveling, this is the definition of 'shirk all responsibilities and stay up until 2 a.m.' reading. A superb story."
thumb
What We Harvest (2022)
Ann Fraistat
"Unputdownable, unforgettable, and gorgeously written. A must-read book."
thumb
As Seen on TV (2022)
Meredith Schorr
"Brimming with hope and charm, AS SEEN ON TV is the perfect blend of escapist Hallmark comedy and tender, true-to-life love story. The beautiful beating heart of this book is its conviction that what's real is infinitely more powerful than what's perfect. This book is a gem: warm and dazzlingly romantic, with a cast of quirky characters you'll adore."
thumb
Nothing But the Truth (2022)
Holly James
"In Holly James's Nothing But the Truth, a magical twist--publicist Lucy Green wakes up on her thirtieth birthday unable to tell a lie--turns out to be the spark that sets fire to a woman's life, launching an urgent journey of self-reflection, self-empowerment, and workplace revolution. At once charmingly effervescent and seriously introspective, James skillfully balances a call to arms with a story of romantic love and personal awakening. Readers will fall head over heels for Lucy and for James, a fresh, sharp new voice in women's fiction."
thumb
Small Town, Big Magic (2022)
(Witchlore, book 1)
Hazel Beck
"A fresh, fun, zany spin on paranormal romance, SMALL TOWN, BIG MAGIC casts a big spell. Take one girlboss witch, add a magical journey of healing and self-discovery, and sprinkle in a dash of romance, and you've got an enchanting read perfect for fans of THE EX HEX and PAYBACK'S A WITCH."
thumb
A Very Typical Family (2022)
Sierra Godfrey
"By turns mordantly funny and deeply moving, A Very Typical Family is an emotional gut punch of a story about the often-fraught relationships we have with the people we loved first and fiercest: our siblings. Godfrey's redemption-seeking narrator is one of the most endearing eccentrics to grace the page since Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and The Cactus. If you like characters who march to their own beats--and who doesn't--you'll love this rich and compelling story."
thumb
The Resemblance (2022)
Lauren Nossett
"Lauren Nossett's The Resemblance is a fresh, haunting take on dark academia that brilliantly peels back the layers of genteel southern Greek life to reveal the horrors lurking underneath. A sinister, addictive blend of self-aware police procedural and campus novel, this is the kind of book that slips its fingers around your throat and doesn't let go, complete with a jaw-dropping twist. Nossett is a gutsy, sensational new voice in crime fiction."
thumb
The Ingenue (2022)
Rachel Kapelke-Dale
"The Ingenue is a beautiful fever dream of a story, a genre-blending mix of mystery and fairytale that metamorphizes into different stories as you're reading: an intimate look at the bonds between mothers and daughters, a searing exploration of who you are when you're no longer exceptional, a knife-edged tale of vengeance. It is utterly enthralling, provocative, and so smart it held me captive until the perfect, sinister end. A book for anyone who was told they were special and is still clawing their way back."

Visitors also looked at these authors


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors