book cover of Famous Men Who Never Lived
Added by 1 of our members

Famous Men Who Never Lived

(2019)
A novel by

 
 

For readers of Station Eleven and Exit West, Famous Men Who Never Lived explores the effects of displacement on our identities, the communities that come together through circumstance, and the power of art to save us.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"Famous Men Who Never Lived is a fascinating novel: complex, uncanny, powerful. K Chess adroitly enacts Joyce’s 'cracked looking glass' and gives us an off-kilter reflection that allows us to really see who we are. The wit, elaboration, and detail of her invention are spectacular." - Dana Spiotta

"With an eerie and ingenious premise, K Chess explores in a fresh way the most universal of human experiences: loss, regret, and the longing for what might have been. With its refugees from a parallel universe, this inventive book does what only fiction can do: describes an impossible world in order to more clearly show us our own." - Karen Thompson Walker

"The novel jumps off from a fascinating premise into strange and fertile territory. K Chess constructs not just one universe, but two, and delicately entangles them to create a rich, engrossing exploration of displacement, history, memory, of the past and the present. Conceptually adventurous yet full of feeling, Famous Men Who Never Lived is a smart, thought-provoking and thoroughly enjoyable debut." - Charles Yu


Used availability for K Chess's Famous Men Who Never Lived

Hardback Editions

March 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
ISBN: 1-947793-24-1 / 978-1-947793-24-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tin House Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
ISBN: 1-951142-28-4 / 978-1-951142-28-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tin House Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
ISBN: 1-66513-918-8 / 978-1-66513-918-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Highbridge Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


March 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
ISBN: 1-66513-917-X / 978-1-66513-917-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Highbridge Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
ISBN: 1-68441-074-6 / 978-1-68441-074-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: HighBridge Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
Publisher: HighBridge Company
Availability: Amazon   


March 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
Publisher: HighBridge Company
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
Publisher: Tin House Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA