book cover of Famous Men Who Never Lived
Added by 1 of our members

Famous Men Who Never Lived

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Station Eleven and Exit West, Famous Men Who Never Lived explores the effects of displacement on our identities, the communities that come together through circumstance, and the power of art to save us.

Wherever Hel looks, New York City is both reassuringly familiar and terribly wrong. As one of the thousands who fled the outbreak of nuclear war in an alternate US - an alternate timeline - she finds herself living as a refugee in our own not-so-parallel New York. The slang and technology are foreign to her, the politics and art unrecognizable. While others, like her partner Vikram, attempt to assimilate, Hel refuses to reclaim her former career or create a new life. Instead, she obsessively rereads Vikram's copy of The Pyronauts - a science-fiction masterwork in her world that now only exists as a single flimsy paperback - and becomes determined to create a museum dedicated to preserving the remaining artifacts and memories of her vanished culture.

But the refugees are unwelcome, and Hel's efforts are met with either indifference or hostility. And when the only copy of The Pyronauts goes missing, Hel must decide how far she is willing to go to recover it and finally face her own anger, guilt, and grief over what she has truly lost.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"Famous Men Who Never Lived is a fascinating novel: complex, uncanny, powerful. K Chess adroitly enacts Joyce’s 'cracked looking glass' and gives us an off-kilter reflection that allows us to really see who we are. The wit, elaboration, and detail of her invention are spectacular." - Dana Spiotta

"With an eerie and ingenious premise, K Chess explores in a fresh way the most universal of human experiences: loss, regret, and the longing for what might have been. With its refugees from a parallel universe, this inventive book does what only fiction can do: describes an impossible world in order to more clearly show us our own." - Karen Thompson Walker

"The novel jumps off from a fascinating premise into strange and fertile territory. K Chess constructs not just one universe, but two, and delicately entangles them to create a rich, engrossing exploration of displacement, history, memory, of the past and the present. Conceptually adventurous yet full of feeling, Famous Men Who Never Lived is a smart, thought-provoking and thoroughly enjoyable debut." - Charles Yu


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Fall
(Dodge, book 2)
Neal Stephenson
thumb
Black Leopard, Red Wolf
(Dark Star Trilogy, book 1)
Marlon James

Used availability for K Chess's Famous Men Who Never Lived

Hardback Editions

March 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
ISBN: 1-947793-24-1 / 978-1-947793-24-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tin House Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
ISBN: 1-68441-074-6 / 978-1-68441-074-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: HighBridge Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
Publisher: HighBridge Company
Availability: Amazon   


March 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
Publisher: HighBridge Company
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Famous Men Who Never Lived
Author(s): K Chess
Publisher: Tin House Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA